Southern Regional Assembly RSES LowRes

1.3 | REGIONAL PROFILE The Southern Region has an area of 29,590, which represents over 42% of Irish state territory and in 2016, the population was 1,589,906, representing one third of the state’s population. With three of the country’s five cities - Cork, Limerick and Waterford and a network of large towns, the Region has a strong urban structure. It remains largely a rural Regionwith contrasting rural landscapes that range from the Atlantic seaboard to rich productive lands and river valleys.

The Region has nine counties Cork (which includes Cork City Council and Cork County Council), Clare, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford Carlow, Kilkenny and Wexford and is administered by 10 local authorities. It is also divided into three sub-regional areas, called Strategic Planning Areas (SPAs) 1 - the Mid-West, South- East and South-West. The Region has a wealth of natural, cultural and heritage assets of national importance and is a significant tourist destination. Natural, cultural and heritage assets include, Gaeltacht areas, Cliffs of Moher, King John’s Castle, Lakes of Killarney, Fota Wildlife Park, Blarney Castle, The Rock of Cashel, Copper Coast Geopark, Waterford Crystal, Kilkenny Castle, Carlow Garden Trail, Hook Lighthouse and the Dunbrody Famine Ship, to name a few.

Map 1.1 | Southern Region

1. The Map of the Region shows the three Strategic Planning Areas (SPAs) – the Mid-West, the South-East and the South-West SPAs. County Tipperary is located within both the Mid-West and South-East SPA. It should be noted that a separate classification of sub regional structures is in place for statistical purposes. This is the NUTS 3 regional level in terms of EU Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS) created by Eurostat and used by the CSO. The Mid-West NUTS 3 region includes the entirety of County Tipperary.

Southern Regional Assembly | RSES


Made with FlippingBook flipbook maker