The Howard School | Sixth Form Prospectus

What are A-Level Qualifications?

A-Levels (short for Advanced Level) are the traditional qualifications that are offered by schools and colleges for students aged between 16 and 19. They follow GCSEs and generally focus on academic subjects. There are many different A-Level subjects that you can take – some will be subjects that you studied at GCSE and others may be new.

A-Levels are very highly valued by employers and universities, so they can open up lots of doors to further study and careers.

Which careers require A-Levels?

Working backwards, some careers require you to have a degree, and you need to have certain A-Levels to get a place on that degree.

Some common ones are: • Veterinary Science – Biology and one or two subjects from Chemistry, Maths or Physics. • Medicine – Chemistry, Biology and either Maths or Physics.

• English – English Literature. • Computer Science – Maths. • Dentistry – Chemistry, Biology and either Maths or Physics.

If you have a certain degree or career in mind, it’s really important that you have a look at the entry requirements to those courses when choosing your A-Levels so you don’t find yourself in a dilemma when applying. If you have no idea what you want to do next, then you’re better off choosing a more general subject. There are some A-Levels that help you to keep your options open. These are known as facilitating subjects and are: • English Literature • History • Mathematics

• Physics • Biology

• Chemistry • Geography

The more of these you choose, the more university courses you will find are open to you when you start applying, and if you don’t have a certain degree or career in mind, then it’s definitely worth considering these.


Made with FlippingBook Publishing Software