Register 2022

and say “thank you”. Thank you to Benji and Ollie and our Prefect group for achieving so much in your appointed roles. To each and every graduate, thank you for bringing so much to the story of College. Your final year has been a reflection of your collective talent and spirit and, consequently, it has been unique and special. We are very proud of you in every way and acknowledge your senior year and its contribution to the ongoing story of our school. As the year concludes, we can reflect on several significant changes in 2022 across roles of responsibility, and staff movement. At the beginning of this year, we welcomed to the permanent teaching staff Craig Walker and Emma Bradley-Hudson, the latter replacing Sam Leary, into the Technology Department, Keri Campbell as Te Reo Maˉori teacher, Travis Dixon as Psychology teacher, Erin Rurtherford as a teacher of English, and the Rev’d Cameron Pickering as our Chaplain. Throughout the year, we farewelled Robbie Turrell from the Commerce Department, who was replaced by Logan Ball. We also welcomed new GAP students during 2022, Lochlan Nicholl, Will Blanchfield and Dan Richards, and we farewelled Jimmy Healy after three years in the role as Immerse & Inspire tutor and rowing coach, who was replaced by Liam O’Leary. In our non-teaching support staff, we welcomed Emma Stilwell as Librarian and Libby Stevens as Assistant Librarian, Gill Blackler as Advancement and Events Coordinator, Brent Anderson as Technology Workshop Technician, Stacey James as Matron in Richards House, who replaced long-serving staff member Jan Kelleher. And, most recently, we welcomed Damon Hoare in the Maintenance Department, who replaced Eoin Cook. Henry Smith commenced as the Housemaster of School House, Dr Neil de Joux took the reins at Harper House, Caroline Black was appointed as our first Director of Wellbeing Education, and Monique Ellis-Martin was appointed as Acting HoD Technology and Design for the

year. Arthur Wood was appointed as Diploma Awards Coordinator. At the end of this year, Warren Lidstone will step down from his role as a Head of Teaching & Learning to take on the challenge of authoring the College history update, from 1998–2025, Change and Continuity. We thank Warren for his contribution to the formative years of the Centre for Teaching Excellence & Research and wish him well for the task ahead. Matt Cortesi’s role as Director of Character & Leadership will change to see Matt pass back coordination and facilitation of mentors within the school to the Housemasters’ Pastoral Committee and him take up coordination and facilitation of our Service programmes. We thank Matt for setting mentorship on the right path through facilitation and resources. Dr Craig Aitken, after 19 years as Somes Housemaster, will step down to be followed by Dr Tom Hawkins. Craig will transition to the role of Principal’s Nominee, an

administrative responsibility liaising with NZQA. Craig’s extraordinary commitment to the boys of Somes during his tenure cannot be understated. His knowledge of those boys, the circumstances of their families and his advocacy and care for each and every one of them is well known in College and beyond as a model of deep commitment to the pastoral imperatives of young men. I thank Craig for this remarkable length of service in the defining role of Housemaster and ask you to acknowledge him for that work. Since 2006, Neil Porter has been a member of the College Leadership team and Executive. Initially appointed as Senior Master – Administration, which included roles as various as Principal’s Nominee and the management of teacher registration, in and around the earthquake period the role changed to better support the Headmaster, leading to a greater degree of engagement with enrolments and wider community engagement. In


Register 2022 Leadership

Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online