Pezzano Mickey & Bornstein December 2018


THE RIGHT TO SUE Believe it or not, even when you are injured in an accident caused by someone else, your insurance policy will dictate whether you are entitled to sue the responsible driver for noneconomic losses, or what we generally call “pain and suffering.” You may select either the “zero” or “no limitation” threshold or the “verbal” or “limitation on lawsuit” threshold. In general, if you have selected the “limitation on lawsuit” threshold, your right to sue the other party who caused your injuries is limited to cases in which you can objectively prove a permanent injury. LIABILITY COVERAGE Liability insurance pays someone you may injure as a result of your negligence. The minimum liability insurance required in New Jersey is $15,000. In the event you carry only minimal liability coverage, your personal assets could be at risk if you cause injury to others. We generally advise that you purchase as much liability coverage as you can afford. UM/UIM COVERAGE Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage steps into the shoes of someone who negligently causes injuries to you and who is either uninsured or underinsured. You can purchase UM and UIM coverage up to the same limits as your liability coverage. We recommend that you never purchase UM/UIM coverage that is less than your liability coverage.

Very often, people are unaware of their insurance coverage until they are involved in an accident and it is too late. Here is a basic overview of the types of coverage available to you and some of our recommendations. This is just a general overview. Your situation might be such that these recommendations would not be right for you. We strongly recommend that you call us for a free, no-obligation review of your present insurance coverage. PIP BENEFITS PIP benefits are personal injury protection benefits, and they include payment of medical expenses. Many people are surprised to learn that it is your own insurance company that pays your medical bills, even if the accident was someone else’s fault. The standard medical expense coverage is $250,000. While you do have the option of purchasing less than $250,000 — in fact, as little as $15,000 — we never recommend purchasing medical expense benefits less than $250,000. HEALTH INSURANCE PRIMARY You have the option to designate your health insurance as the primary payer of accident-related medical expenses in exchange for a reduction in premium. Note that you cannot designate Medicare or Medicaid as the primary payer. There are often downsides to designating your health insurance as primary. For example, your health insurance may be permitted to assert a lien on any third-party recovery. That means that your health insurer may be entitled to reimbursement from any money you receive in a settlement or judgment against the person who caused your accident.

WHAT ARE WE UP TO? On Dec. 4, 2018, PMB’s Lisa Mickey was invited to speak at a National Business Institute (NBI) seminar titled Workers’ Compensation Claims in 7 Steps, in Princeton, New Jersy. The course is recommended to educate attorneys, insurance adjusters, and human resource professionals about the practical steps of handling a workers’ compensation claim, from initial intake through the hearing process. Ms. Mickey presented an overview of the New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Act and led a discussion concerning the difficulties faced by injured workers in obtaining medical treatment.


Prime Rib

Looking for an easy holiday roast that still feels elegant enough for the occasion? Look no further than this delicious prime rib flavored with garlic, thyme, and red wine.


• • •

4 cups beef stock

• • •

1 bone-in prime rib (6–7 pounds)

1 tablespoon fresh thyme, chopped Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

8 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

2 cups red wine


5. To make au jus, place roasting pan with drippings from roast over 2 burners on high. Add wine and scrape pan as liquid reduces. Add beef stock and cook until reduced by half. Finally, sprinkle in thyme. 6. Slice roast and serve topped with au jus.

1. 30 minutes before cooking, remove roast from fridge and let sit until it reaches room temperature. 2. Heat oven to 350 F. 3. Make small slits in prime rib and stuff with slices of garlic. Liberally season with salt and pepper. 4. Place a rack inside a roasting pan and roast prime rib for 2 hours, until medium-rare.

Inspired by Food Network

3 (908) 293-7330

Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online