Register 2021


with the students. We farewell our Year 13 group this year. They were well led by Isaac Aitken as Head of House and he was well-assisted by his peers, including deputies Joshua Wood and Anton Marshall. They are a special group as they are the first group of Year 9s for Matt Thatcher as Housemaster. We also farewell from Jacobs some students in other years and wish all who are leaving us all the best for the future. SCHOOL PRIZE-GIVINGS A number of boys achieved and performed well throughout the challenging year we had and many were rewarded with prizes at their respective prize-givings. The boys were: James Floyd – Neave Memorial Prize for French. Ben Crawford – Road Cycling Prize. Josh Durant – Seddon-Smith Cup for the Most Promising Newcomer in Theatre Arts and The TA & KM Mouldey Cup for Junior Hockey. Finn McCormack-Young – Academic Award and The TA & KM Mouldey Cup for Junior Hockey. Ashwin Thomas – Cup for Best U14 Football Player. Angus Whitteker – Prize for Physics and AK & DF Hancock Prize for Head Treble. George Cochrane – Prize for Materials and Technology Cup for Most Promising U16 Rower. Angus Gifford – Academic Award, Barnett Prize for Biology, Le Cren Prize for Science and Prize for Japanese. Oliver Glossop – Barnett Prize for Physics. Ferg Richards – Academic Award.

Benjamin Breitmeyer – Prize for Physical Education. Yusef Elnahas – Barnett Prize for Chemistry, the Neave Memorial Prize for French, the Prize for English, the Tancred Prize for Literature and the Tom Cooper Prize for Public Speaking. Liam Jack – Prize for Materials Technology. Isaac Aitken – Prize for Physical Education and Cup for Services to Waterpolo. Thomas Stephens – Prize for Agribusiness. Special prize Isaac Aitken – The Charles Upham Award (Year 13). SPORT We had a number of boys perform well in their chosen sports and below are some highlights. Isaac Aitken is this year’s Senior captain at College with the team finishing 3rd at the South Island school water polo championships. He is currently a member of the Canterbury U18, U21 and Senior Men’s team playing national matches around the country this year. He is a national B grade referee and coach of the Cathedral Grammar School team and College junior team. Alex Hickman competed at the national canoe sprint champs at Lake Karapiro. After three days of racing, Alex had podium finishes in a variety of events. He gained four podium finishes and two national titles. He won the U18 K4 200 event and the U18 K2 1000 race and took a silver in the U18 K4 500 event. Alex also trialled for the U18 NZ Canoe Sprint Team for the World

Housemaster: Matt Thatcher Deputy Housemaster/Mentor: Caroline Black Mentors: Robyn Peers, Elaine Tang, William Bell, Chris Sellars, Chris Waugh, Maria Riveros Head of House: Isaac Aitken Deputy Heads of House: Joshua Wood and Anton Marshall 2021 was a year that was successful, with plenty of achievements, fun and laughter in what seemed to also be a year that flew by. We welcomed 15 new entrants in Year 9, one in Year 11 and one in Year 12, taking us to our ideal number of 75 students in total. All of these boys settled in and engaged well, making connections with others and getting a handle on the routines and expectations of College and the House. This year was also disrupted by Covid-19 and a brief period of remote learning, during which the students managed themselves and their schooling admirably and we are very proud of each of them for this. This also impacted on the end of the year and a number of events were sadly unable to be run, including our combined House Dinner and Prize- giving with parents in attendance. We were able to recognise the boys who had done exceptionally well during the year at the House prize-giving


Christ’s College Canterbury

Made with FlippingBook Digital Publishing Software