GENEDGE Annual Report 2016


innovate. compete. grow.


Message from FY2016 Board Chair For the past two years it has been my privilege to serve as chair of the GENEDGE Board of Trustees, helping to guide this incredible organization in raising Virginia’s manufacturing economy. It gives me great pleasure to present this, our first, Annual Report to the Governor and the Commonwealth. From personal experience, I can say that GENEDGE is a world-class resource for manufacturers in Virginia. As co-founder of Mikro Systems, Inc., a small manufacturing company in Charlottesville, I have seen the impact GENEDGE has had on our manufacturing performance, job growth and bottom-line business results. Since our first project with GENEDGE, we have grown from 12 employees to over 70, and from a single product, we now have several products in three different markets. GENEDGE consulting experts have been helping Virginia businesses for over 20 years with quality systems, Lean Six Sigma, growth and innovation, and process and product improvements. I encourage every manufacturer in Virginia to tap into this incredible resource.

The Commonwealth of Virginia is represented by our Board of Trustees, which is a fiduciary board appointed by the Governor. Key members of our board are also advocates of manufacturing through the Governor’s Manufacturing Advisory Board, an entity which serves as a policy resource for the Governor and his cabinet.

FY2017 Chair and Vice Chair: Tamea L. Franco , Chair

Marc Foglia , Vice Chair President & Co-Founder, NVIS, Inc.

CEO & President, Global Metal Finishing; Chair, GENEDGE Executive Committee Board Members: Dr. Makola M. Abdullah , President Virginia State University Ed Albrigo , President Center for Innovative Technology (CIT) Jonathan R. Alge r, President James Madison University Dr. James E. Atkinson , Vice President & CFO Mikro Systems, Inc. Dr. Kevin Creehan , Director of Technology Transition National Center for Defense Manufacturing & Machining; Chair, GENEDGE Strategic Planning Committee Hans de Koning , President Flexicell, Inc. Dr. John T. Dever, President Thomas Nelson Community College

Marilyn Hanover , Principal Hanover Business Solutions, LLC The Honorable Todd Haymore Secretary of Commerce & Trade Roy C. Irvine , Quality Systems Manager The Wauford Group DCI The Honorable Karen Jackson Secretary of Technology David R. Lohr , President & CEO Navigation Point Advisors Kevin N. Mumpower , Vice President of Engineering Bristol Compressors International, LLC

Dr. Bruce Scism , President Danville Community College Dr. Wayne P. Stilwell , CEO

Stilwell Technology and Robotics; Chair, GENEDGE HR Committee Meiky Tollman , Chief of Operations and Supply Chain Sabra Dipping Company Anna H. Yarashus , Manufacturing Technology Project Manager, Concurrent Technologies Corporation

Dr. John A. Downey , President Blue Ridge Community College Dr. Tiffany McKillip Franks , President Averett University Douglas Frost , Senior Vice President Dewberry, LLC Aviv Goldsmith , President Precursor Systems, Inc.

James E. Atkinson, PhD. FY2016 Chair, Board of Trustees

Our Vision : To be the best public resource helping Virginia manufacturing and industry innovate , compete , and grow . Our Mission: To enhance the productivity and technological performance of Virginia manufacturing and industry.

Made with FlippingBook flipbook maker