The Sentry: Volume 06, Issue 14

CONTENTS

DECEMBER 02 - JANUARY 26

L I S T E N T O O U R M I D - S E A S O N F I N A L E E P I S O D E !

VOLUME: 06 ISSUE: 14

CONTENTS

Taelar Pollmann

COVER

Forum

PAGE 04

News

PAGE 05

Photobooth

PAGE 08

Leisure

PAGE 10

Noise STAFF

PAGE 13

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

Alexander Elmore alexander.elmore@ucdenver.edu

I l lust rat ion: Alex Sta l l swor th · The Sent ry CLICK THE PHOTO ABOVE TO LISTEN THE FINAL FALL 2020 SEMESTER EPISODE OF THE SENTRY PODCAST .

MANAGING & FORUM EDITOR

Kaia Stallings kaia.stallings@ucdenver.edu

F R OM T H E E D I T O R

WH Y D O WE R A N K T H I N G S ?

NEWS EDITOR

Lorraine Kelly lorraine.kelly@ucdenver.edu

LEISURE EDITOR

Amanda Blackman amanda.blackman@ucdenver. edu Kennedy Erhart kennedy.erhart@ucdenver.edu

provides order. Creating my own lists helps me to process information, figure out what I like, etc. I can evaluate my year in part by how hard or easy it is for me to create a top ten films of the year list. I can likely discern what has influenced me over my life by cre - ating rankings of guilty pleasures and my favorites of the decade in which I did most of my growing up. If I can look at a list of titles, why I am the way I am or why I want to the make the type of art I do all just seem to make more sense. As you read through this final issue of the Fall 2020 semester, I invite you to reflect on this crazy, hell-hole of a year. While per- haps there are a number of things youdidn’t enjoy about the last eleven months, hope- fully there are a few things you did. If you need a pointer to get into the right mindset of thankfulness and positive reflection, I recommend either our Leisure or News Editors’ columns. As the rest of our staff has done in the entire paper (and not just the Forum and

Etc sections) this issue, might I offer my opinion of a few of my best moments from this year. In 2020, I: got a new movie from my favorite director ( Tenet , dir. Christopher Nolan). Two of my all-time favorite artists released their best albums to date ( Manic and folklore ). I reconnected with a friend I hadn’t talked to in almost a year (you know who you are). In a few weeks my sister, who I haven’t seen in almost a year, will be returning to America. Right around the same time, I’ll be celebrating one year of dating my boyfriend. I turned 21 (on the day the US lockdown started). I found my political voice I’d been searching for and got to participate in a general election for the first time ever. I’m directing a senior thesis film ( GroceryStore Flowers , coming 2021-ish). And I’ve gotten to be Editor-in-Chief of this paper for an entire semester (which has been a goal for three years). So, maybe not everything is garbage this year.

NOISE EDITOR

DESIGN EDITOR

Alex Stallsworth alex.stallsworth@ucdenver.edu

PHOTOGRAPHY EDITOR

John Mazzetta john.mazzetta@ucdenver.edu

ALEXANDER ELMORE

I like to rank things. I make end of year lists about my favorite mov- ies and songs. I have a list of every Christopher Nolan film ranked. I’ve also compiled the best films of various genres and decades of release, and even have spe- cific lists like “best movies set in a single location” or “best songs by drag queens.” So, yeah, I like making lists and ranking. To get philosophical about it, because what else am I supposed to do, I would say that I like lists and ranking because it

COPY EDITORS

Isaiah Mancha isaiah.mancha@ucdenver.edu

Trevor Leach trevor.leach@ucdenver.edu

PHOTOGRAPHERS

Nicholas Dimond, Jonathan Enssle, Victoria Moffat, Benjamin Neufeld, Taelar Pollmann, Aman Tewolde Jeremiah Blackman, Tommy Clift, Ahmad Dabbas, Sang "Wyatt" Dao, Aarti Dureja, Jonathan Enssel, Taylor “Kat” Goodman, Benjamin Neufeld, Lionel Mendonsa, Victoria Moffat, Danae Rodriguez, Gillian Russo, Frankie Spiller, Owen Gutherie Swallow, Aman Tewolde Coleman Conley, Tatianna Dubose, Taylor “Kat” Goodman, Rigby Guerrerro, April Kinney,, Mazie Neill, Owen Guthrie Swallow

WRITERS

T H E S E N T R Y O F F I C E

GET INVOLVED

PITCH MEETINGS

Mailing Address

Love us? Hate us? Write us. Send your com- ments, questions, and howls of grief to alexander. elmore@ucdenver.edu with “Letter to the Editor” in the subject line. The Sentry editors strive to print factually true and conceptually correct information. That being said, mistakes do occur. Please email alexander.elmore@ucdenver.edu if you spot any errors. The Sentry is a publication for and by the students of CU Denver and is paid for by student fees and advertising revenue. The Sentry is published every Wednesday during the academic year and is distributed digitally to the Auraria Campus and the greater Denver metropolitan area.

Pitch meetings are currently closed to the general public due to COVID-19; however, story ideas can be submitted by visiting our website and clicking the "Submit a Story Idea" tab. To otherwise get involved with The Sentry, be sure to check for updates on our social media or send a friendly email to alexander.elmore@ucdenver.edu.

CU Denver Sentry Campus Box 83 P.O. Box 173364 Denver, CO 80217

Street Address

ILLUSTRATORS

Tivoli Student Union Suite #345 900 Auraria Parkway

HIRING

Phone

At this time, The Sentry has closed applica- tions for writers, photographers, and illustrators to be a part of The Sentry team. Applications will re-open January 2021.

(303) 315-7290

PROGRAM COORDINATOR & ADVERTISER

Natasha Sherrod natasha.sherrod@ucdenver.edu

Online

cu-sentry.com Facebook: /CUSentry Instagram: @CU_Sentry Twitter: @cu_sentry

FACULTY ADVISER

Teague Bohlen teague.bohlen@ucdenver.edu

Made with FlippingBook Annual report