Life In Mt. Pleasant - Angela Mangus

HISTORY - 21ST CENTURY

Completed in 1929, the Cooper River Bridge provided the first direct road between Mount Pleasant and the City of Charleston. Soon after, the local steam ferries shut down. It was replaced by the iconic Arthur J. Ravenel Bridge in 2005. In 1930, Captain C. Magwood was the first fisherman to bring ocean shrimp into Mount Pleasant. The shrimping business grew into an important industry centered at Shem Creek. In 1989, Hurricane Hugo made landfall as a category four hurricane with 135 mph winds, a 5-foot wall of water, a 20-foot storm surge, and 3000 tornadoes (vortices). At the time, it was the deadliest hurricane in American history. Interstate 526 stimulated significant regional growth, and the town annexed Brickyard Plantation subdivision in 1989 and Charleston National, Dunes West, and Park West subdivisions in 1990. These north-end residential developments promoted a “live, work, play” concept that attracted homebuyers nationwide.

Made with FlippingBook Publishing Software