Meet the Directors

LOUELLA MATHIAS BOARD DIRECTOR | 2013 to present

My husband Kevin and I moved to Toronto in 1990 with 2 small boys aged 4 and 1 years, respectively. After 30 years of work experience in the social service and education sectors, I began a new career in 2019, as a consultant in risk management and program evaluation. As I look back on these 30 years in Canada, it has been one hell of a ride. Leaving behind a wonderful lifestyle and moving to a new country with no family support enabled me to develop family-like bonds and I consider myself amongst the lucky ones who was able to ‘choose my relatives’!!

LOUELLA MATHIAS Cairo, Egypt (2016)

Our two sons are now married and starting families of their own. Ryan is a gastroenterologist in Australia, and Andrew is a Chartered Accountant with KMPG in Vancouver. With both boys out of the house, Hannah our German Shepherd rules our roost! I have moved home 14 times and travelled around the globe mostly due to Kevin’s work-related transfers. The moves meant new beginnings, re-establishing social

Hannah

networks, and settling my sons into schools and new routines. I loved the moves. I got to travel to exotic places, broaden my thinking over cultures and customs, and as an added bonus, we have social networks in so many countries. When not working, gardening or volunteering, l am either travelling or making travel plans. I’ve covered 45 countries of the world and know I have a lot more to do! I am also finally returning to my stained glasswork/hobby. I was invited to join Options board by Director, Tim Beachy. Tim and I had worked on a policy project about 15 years ago. In 2012, when I returned to Canada from a 3-year posting to New York, we reconnected, and here I am. I am enjoying my role with Options and knowing that I am a part of its growth and success is truly fulfilling.

OPTIONS COMMUNITY SERVICES SOCIETY

MAY 2021

Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs