Joe Miller Law December 2017

NEWSLETTER

F ollow U s

12 | 17

www .J oe M iller I njury L aw . com | 888-694-7994

THE MISCONCEPTION THAT SABOTAGES YOUR CASE YES, YOU CAN AFFORD AN ATTORNEY

Recently, we got a call from a woman who’d been injured at work a year ago. Her doctor put her on light duty with a 10-pound limit — which meant she must have been very badly injured — but her employer didn’t have any work for her. The workers’ comp insurance adjusters denied her claim, and she wasn’t able to seek out any treatment for her injuries. All the while, she had no money coming in. I asked her why she waited so long to call a lawyer, and I got the answer I always dread: “I didn’t have any money.” “You don’t have to reach into your wallet when you need

have to reach into your wallet when you need a workers’ comp or personal injury attorney.

awarded fee is paid in full. Even then, if our client is in a bad state and needs every dime, we’ll waive the initial fee until later. But the main way we receive our fees is in the event of settlement. Typically, we are awarded by the commission 20 percent of the gross settlement in Virginia as a fee and 25 percent of the settlement as an attorney’s fee in North Carolina. But you will not have to write a check. The insurance company will write two separate checks — one for the attorneys fee and the rest to you. to scrape together enough money to hire a lawyer. In regards to personal injury or workers’ comp, every decision you make has the potential to destroy your case. Calling a lawyer right away can prevent huge mistakes from happening. We don’t charge for that phone call, either! Anyone who gets hurt on the job and gives us a call will have their situation evaluated by our elite, seven- step case evaluation process, free of charge. Here’s the bottom line: You don’t have to reach into your pocket to get help. If more people understand how easy it is to get the representation they need, maybe there would be fewer people calling for help when it’s too late. –Joseph Miller A person who has been severely injured at work has enough to worry about without also trying

Personal injury and workers’ comp cases are incredibly complicated, and it’s easy to make a mistake that will prevent you from claiming the compensation you deserve. Attorneys will help you navigate the stormy waters and get you the best possible outcome. Unfortunately, many people assume all attorneys operate using the same standards and means to get paid. If someone you know had to call a bunch of family members to scrape together $1,500 for a criminal defense attorney, or if a family member had to dig into their savings for a divorce lawyer, you might assume a workers’ comp lawyer will also cause you to have to come up with a wad of cash to hire him or her. But that’s simply not true. Those ads for attorneys on TV often claim, “We don’t get paid unless you win!” In this case, they’re being honest. Our fees are paid based on an award from the state’s Workers’ Compensation Commission. If we are able to get our client an award, the commission determines how much our services are worth. If we obtain an initial award for you, we’re often awarded $600–$1,000, and this money is slowly withdrawn from the weekly checks that you receive as a result of the award. In a typical scenario, we’re given $25-$50 out of the workers’ comp checks each week, until the

a workers’ comp or personal injury attorney.”

I hear this response more often than I would like. “I was broke.” “I didn’t have any money coming in at the time.” “I couldn’t afford the attorney fees.” When I hear these things, it usually means the person on the other end of the phone has already made a huge mistake regarding their case. Now, it’s too late to help them. What’s worse, they didn’t have to wait at all! You don’t

If you belong to a union or other labor-related group and want to schedule my presentation at your group’s speaking arrangement, you can do so by calling 888-694-7994 . The presentation is free of charge, offers important information for taking appropriate action in Virginia workers’ compensation cases, and everyone in attendance gets a free copy of my book, “10 Traps and Lies that Can Ruin Your Virginia Workers Compensation Case.” Education is the best way to protect yourself from making a mistake, so call now, before it’s too late.

888-694-7994 | 1

Published by The Newsletter Pro • www.NewsletterPro.com

Made with <A HREF="https://blog.flippingbook.com/" TITLE="">FlippingBook</A> Learn more on our blog