Board Converting News, September 27, 2021

TAPPI Presents Major Awards, Recognizes Scholarship Winners

TAPPI has recognized individuals who have made significant contributions to the pulp and paper industry. It has also announced the scholarship win- ners who represent the prosperous future of the industry. This year’s recipient of the President’s Choice Award is Peter Snyder. The President’s Choice Award recognizes an individual who has devoted their time and talents not only to their specific TAPPI Division, but to the TAPPI Association overall. Pete has been a member of TAPPI since 1986

Packaging ERP Algorithmic Scheduling Web-Based Access Online Customer Portals

and during this time he has been chair of multiple corrugated division committees, editor of the cor- rugated newsletter and a member for the Corru- gated Packaging Council. Throughout his career, Pete has been a member of TAPPI Foundation Board, four different TAPPI Local Sections, and a member of the Cullison Scholarship Committee. He has presented over 20 times as a course in- structor and numerous times as panel moderator

Paperless Workflows Mobile Sales Systems Digital Signage Production Monitoring Mobile Logistics Management Analytics & Reporting Cloud Hosting IT Management Services Cyber Security Management

Peter Snyder

or presenter at TAPPI events. His contributions to the industry are many, including participation in FTA, ACCCSA, AICC and the Corrugated Pack- aging Division’s growth. Pete’s countless abilities, tireless efforts, and con- tinuing leadership make all good things happen. The award to recognize aspiring young leaders employed in the global forest products, pulp, paper, tissue, packaging, and associated industries for their contributions in the following areas: leadership, community ser- vice, and problem-solving contributions to scientific or engineering proj-

600 + Plants 60,000 Users North America Latin America

ects is the Young Professional of the Year Award. This year, the award is presented to Lena Sharesky of Packaging Corporation of America. A graduate of Monmouth University in New Jersey, Lena has been a TAPPI member since 2018. She currently serves as the Director of Events for the Young Pro- fessionals Division, is an active participant on the TAPPICon 2021 Steering Committee, a participant in TAPPI’s Mentor Match program and is actively


Lena Sharesky

engaged in creating numerous Webinars and standalone social program- ming focused on connecting Young Professionals around the globe. Lena serves on the Corrugated Packaging Council as the Liaison between the Council and the Young Professionals Division. Outgoing Corrugated Packaging Council Members Formed in 2002 with the objective of being an advisory board to TAPPI in all areas related to the members of the Corrugated Division and how TAPPI can best serve the industry, the Corrugated Packaging Council is comprised of six appointed members, both inte- grated and independents, and nine elected mem- bers. The CPC members volunteer their time and knowledge and the TAPPI Corrugated Division is stronger because of their involvement. Outgoing members are Craig Hoyt, CEO of Buckeye Boxes, who has been a member of the CPC since 2007 and Chris Krumm, Vice President, CorrChoice, who joined the CPC in 2010. Three newly elected CPC members are Dave Burgess, JB Machinery, Mike Kohler, Kohler Coat- ing and Jeff Gebauer, Niagara Sheets. CONTINUED ON PAGE 14 Craig Hoyt


September 27, 2021

Made with FlippingBook Ebook Creator