Gloomhaven RuleBook

• If more than one enemy ties for being the closest, the second priority is to focus on the enemy who is earlier in the initiative order (summons are focused on before the character who summoned them in this regard, even on the round they are summoned, and a character who is performing a long rest would be focused on last).

Example: Even though the Brute  is physically closer to Monster  , the monster is performing a melee attack and can get in range of the Tinkerer in fewer steps (2 instead of 4), so the monster focuses on the Tinkerer  . In the case where there are no valid targets on which to focus, because there are no valid hexes a monster can attack from (i.e., they are all blocked, occupied, or there is no open path to reach them), regardless of the number of hexes it could move, a monster will not move or attack on its turn, but it will perform any of the other actions on its ability card that it is able. 1 a b

1

1

1

2

2

2

b

3

a

4

MONSTER MOVEMENT A monster can move on its turn if “Move±X” is part of its ability card. It can move up to a number of hexes equal to its base move value (found on its monster statistic card) modified by X (either positive or negative). If a monster has a move but no attack afterward as part of its ability card, it will use its movement to get as close as possible to its focused target (determined as if it had a melee attack), moving along the shortest possible path to enter a hex adjacent to its focused enemy. If a monster has an attack ability after its movement, it will move the least number of hexes possible in such a way as to attack its focused enemy with maximum effect . If it is a single-target melee attack, it will simply move toward the nearest hex adjacent to its focus to attack. If it is a multi-target attack , it will move toward a position where its attack will hit its focused enemy and as many other enemies as possible. If the monster is performing a ranged attack, it will only move toward a hex where it is within range to perform its best possible attack. A monster will also move away from its focused enemy until it can perform the ranged attack without Disadvantage. When forced to choose, a monster will prioritize losing Disadvantage on its focused enemy over maximizing its attack on secondary targets. Even if a monster cannot move into attack range, it will still use its movement to get as close as possible to its focus. Having abilities other than “Attack” on its ability card does not affect a monster’s movement in any way. It will simply move according to the above rules and then use its other abilities as best as it can.

Example: Monster  can perform a “Move 3” ability. It first focuses on the Brute  , since he is the closest enemy. If the monster had a ranged attack, it would remain in its current hex and attack the Brute. If it had a single-target melee attack, it would move 1 hex  to be adjacent to the Brute and attack. If it could attack two targets with a melee attack, it would move 2 hexes  to be adjacent to both the Brute and the Tinkerer. If it could melee attack three or more targets, it would move 3 hexes  to be adjacent to all three characters. c b 1 a

1

c

b

a

d

d

30

www.paypal.me

Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs