Gloomhaven RuleBook

Playing a Campaign Traveling and Road Events

After every scenario, whether it was a success or failure, players have the choice to either return to Gloomhaven or to immediately travel to a new scenario. In the case that players immediately travel to a new scenario, they must complete a road event before starting the new scenario unless they are playing the same scenario, the new scenario is linked to the previous scenario, or they are playing in casual mode . In a scenario’s entry in the Scenario Book, the scenarios that are linked to that entry are listed on the upper right side of the page  . If the two scenarios are linked , players can immediately start the new scenario without completing a road event. a

Kill all enemies Goal : None Requirements : # 1 G-10

Black Barrow

a

Links: Barrow Lair – #2

If players return to Gloomhaven, once they are finished with their business in town (see Visiting Gloomhaven on pp. 42–48 for details), then the party will still need to travel to a new scenario and complete a road event unless the new scenario is linked to Gloomhaven or it is being played in casual mode . This link will also be listed in the scenario’s entry in the scenario book. Example: After completing the Black Barrow scenario, the party unlocks the Barrow Lair scenario. These two scenarios are linked , so they could travel to the Barrow Lair without completing a road event. Instead, they decide to go back to Gloomhaven to spend the money they gathered. Now when they travel to the Barrow Lair, they must complete a road event because the Barrow Lair is not linked to Gloomhaven. COMPLETING ROAD EVENTS To complete a road event, players draw a single card from the road event deck and read the introductory text on the front. After this text, two options are given, and players must agree on a single choice before turning over the card and reading the matching outcome. Once the outcome has been read, the choice cannot be changed , and players must gain or lose whatever the outcome directs. Depending on the makeup and reputation of the party, a single choice (A or B) can have several different outcomes . A choice should be read top to bottom, resolving all outcomes that apply to the party. First Steps Party Achievement : Barrow Lair 2 (G-11) N w Location : With the last bandit dead, you take a moment to catch your breath and steel yourself against the visions of living remains ripping at your flesh. Your target is not among the dead, and you shudder to think what horrors still await you in the catacombs below. 2 Conclusion : The hill is easy enough to find—a short journey past the NewMarket Gate and you see it jutting out on the edge of the Corpsewood, looking like a rat under a rug. Moving closer you see the mound is formed from a black earth. Its small, overgrown entrance presents a worn set of stone stairs leading down into the darkness. As you descend, you gratefully notice light emanating from below. Unfortunately, the light is accompanied by the unmistakable stench of death. You contemplate what kind of thieves would make their camp in such a horrid place as you reach the bottom of the steps. Here you find your answer—a rough group of cutthroats who don’t seem t have taken very kindly to your sudden appearance. One in the back matches the description of your quarry. Introduction :

1

An outcome can be preceded by one of the following conditions: • A class icon. As long as one of the listed class icons matches the class icon of a current member of the party, the outcome is applied. • A range of reputation. If the party’s reputation is within the designated range, the outcome is applied. • A collective gold amount. If the party collectively has equal to or more than the gold amount, that amount is lost, and the outcome is applied. • The word “otherwise.” If none of the preceding outcomes were applied, apply this outcome instead. If the outcome does not have a condition, the outcome is applied. L1a G1b I1b Maps : 07 Kicking through the do r, you find yourself face-to-face with the reason these bandits chose this particular hole to nest in: animate bones—unholy abominations of necromantic power. 1 “Take care of these unfortunates,” he says, backing out of the room. You can vaguely make out his silhouette as he retreats down a hallway and through a door to his left. “Well, it’s not every day we get people stupid enough to hand-deliver their valuables to us,” grins one of the larger bandits, unsheathing a rusty blade. “We’ll be killing you now.” Joke’s on them. If you had any valuables, you probably wouldn’t be down here in the first place.

41 : You quickly identify the source of the problem — some frayed wiring in the kitchen — and have it replaced in no time. The proprietor seems very impressed by your work and gives free drinks all around in your name. Gain 2 reputation. OTHERWISE: You fumble about magnanimously for a while before concluding that you have no idea what you’re doing. The proprietor looks disappointed and sends out for a real tinkerer. No effect. : The darkness gives the less scrupulous among you a good chance to perform their craft. Within a matter of minutes, your coin purses are much heavier. Gain 10 collective gold. OTHERWISE: You attempt to lighten some purses, but even in the dark, you find the task a little outside your skill set. One patron catches your hand as it searches his belt. He starts yelling, and you flee as quickly as REPUTATION > -5: You get into the game, but after a few rounds, your enthusiasm wanes as the man displays a streak of luck that can only be described as “ ncanny.” You leave the table empty-handed. Lose 5 gold each. OTHERWISE: The man clearly intends to cheat you out of your hard-earned money. He’s not the only one capable of cheating, however. After a few rounds, you wipe that smile right off his face. Gain 5 gold each. You laugh and wave away the man’s offer. You get all the excitement you need fighting toe- to-toe against vicious monsters. In combat, what matters most is planning and tactics, which are far more interesting than some PAY 10 COLLECTIVE GOLD: You han over th g ld and take hold of the piece of garb ge. Amidst troubling brown smears you see lot of meaningless scratches likely made by rats and bugs. Oh well. Som times the long shot doesn’t pay off. No ffec . OTHERWISE: “Bah! You don’t have enough. Come back when you do!” No effect. You laugh and gesture the Vermling away. You can recognize a low-life swindler when : You quickly identify the source of the problem — some frayed wiring in the kitchen — and have it replac d in n time. The proprietor seems very impressed by your wo k and gives free drinks all around in y r name. Gain 2 reputation. OTHERWISE: You fumble about magnanimously for a while before concluding th t you have no idea what you’re doing. The proprietor looks disappointed and sends out for a real tinkerer. No effect. : The darkness gives the less scrupulous among you a good chanc to perform their craft. Within a matter of minutes, your coin purses are much heavier.

Nothing more to do but lay them to rest along with the remainder of this troublesome

flippingbook.com

Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs