Gloomhaven RuleBook

Player Rules

Can I say X or Y at the beginning of the round when choosing my cards? As long as you avoid specific numerical values and card titles , you can say whatever you want.

Can I play a card just for the experience? You have to perform at least one part of the action on the card to gain the experience. If it just says "Attack," you have to attack an enemy to get the experience. If it has "Attack" and "Move," however, you can just move and not attack and still get the experience. A larger experience symbol sitting on its own on an action is not meant to be tied to any specific ability in the action.

Can I choose not to gain the experience from using an action? No, experience is not optional.

If I am level 9, can I still earn experience? You can still track experience when you are level 9 as a metric for how well you are doing in the scenario, but experience no longer gives you any long-term benefits. Can I choose to not perform specific parts of an action and what is considered a negative effect? You can choose not perform any or all parts of an action except the following: 1. Negative effects: Effects that when performed will (not may) reduce hit points, lose cards, or apply a negative condition to yourself or an ally . 2. Stand alone infusions (i.e. not attached to a specific ability). Note that infusions gained from modifier cards are considered attached to the attack so they can be skipped. Also, at least one ability on the action must be performed in order to gain the Infusion. 3. XP granting abilities, whether stand alone or attached to another ability. If stand alone, at least one ability on the action must be performed in order to gain the XP. 4. +/- X ability adjustments from modifier cards. You cannot change the order of the abilities in the action, though. Can I decide not to loot money or treasure tiles in my hex at the end of my turn? End-of-turn looting is not optional. If there are money or treasure tiles in your hex at the end of your turn, you have to loot them. Are there restrictions on what I can loot with a Loot ability in regards to line-of-sight or obstacles? The specific mechanics are that you can loot all hexes within range X of you, where X refers to "Loot X." This means that if you can target the hex with an attack in that range, you can loot the hex. This means loot is unaffected by monsters or obstacles, but is affected by line-of-sight. Any enemy or scenario effect forces me onto a hex with loot, can I automatically pick it up, like end- of-turn looting? No, end-of-turn looting happens only at the end of your turn. You cannot automatically pick up loot at any other time.

57

flippingbook.com

Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs