Gloomhaven RuleBook

If a monster can't get within range to attack with its movement, will it still move closer? Absolutely, monsters will always use the minimum movement required to get as close as possible to a hex where they can attack their focus, attempting to get into a position where they can attack with maximum efficiency if possible (e.g. avoiding disadvantage (first priority) or maximizing attacks on other targets (second priority)). Closeness is measured by the minimum total number of hexes the monster needs to physically move to reach the desired hex. Will a monster move away from a character if it is adjacent and is performing a ranged attack? Yes, as a general rule, monsters move a minimum amount to maximize their attack, so they will move one hex away to lose disadvantage. If a monster ability card doesn't specify an "Attack" or "Move" ability, do they still perform that ability? No. Monsters only do what is written on their card for that round. If an ability card for a monster that normally has range shows a hex configuration with a grey hex (normally signifying a melee attack), is this attack still considered ranged? No, in this case, it would perform a melee attack. If a monster is disarmed, will it move as if it has an attack? No, disarm negates all effects of having an attack. A monster will move as though it doesn't have an attack, which means it will just try to get as close as possible to its focus. If a monster has bonuses like "Shield" or "Retaliate" on their ability card, is that active for the whole round? No, bonuses only become active once the monster takes their turn based on the initiative on the ability card. It then lasts until the end of the round, where it will either get shuffled back into the deck or replaced with the next round's ability card. How are these bonuses affected by stunning a monster? Note that the bonuses are not simply given by the monster ability card. Monsters would have to perform a "Shield 1" action to gain the Shield 1, so these bonuses only activate if a monster is not stunned on its turn. When a monster type activates, do they all go on the same turn, or does each individual monster have a separate turn? Each individual monster has a separate turn. If a monster type consumes an element due to its ability card, does only the first monster who acts gain the effect or all the monsters? When monsters consume an element, all monsters of that type gain the benefit when they activate.

If two different monster types reveal the same initiative on different ability cards, which one goes first?

66

Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs