Annual Report 2016



Dear Friends of MADD,

As Mothers Against Drunk Driving® (MADD) continued its quest to end drunk driving, help fight drugged driving, support the victims of these violent crimes and prevent underage drinking, I’m pleased to report that in 2016 we moved our mission forward. Furthermore, we are grateful to you for helping us get there.

Hon. David Strickland, Esq.

Chairman of the Board Steven Benvenisti, Esq. Vice Chair Barbara Brodt Secretary Mahesh Shetty Treasurer Brad Bulla Robert “Skip” Carter Heather Geronemus Tara Kelley-Baker, Ph.D. Mary Klotzbach, M.S.N., R.N., A.C.M., C.C.M, Arkie Koehl Christopher Mann, Esq. Anne Taylor McCartt, Ph.D. Ron Medford Madalene Milano Col. Ron Replogle, Ret. Walter Rooney, M.D. Joseph Sikes Monica Vandehei

Here are just some of the year’s mission achievements:

• Three more states — Maryland, Rhode Island and Vermont — and the District of Columbia passed all-offender ignition interlock laws, bringing the total number of states to 28, plus D.C. • MADD and its team of dedicated volunteers served a victim of drunk or drugged driving every 14 minutes and compassionately provided a supportive service every three minutes. • The state of Virginia announced an exciting plan to invest $5.1 million to advance the development and deployment of the Driver Alcohol Detection System for Safety (DADSS). • MADD equipped nearly 19,000 parents and 146,000 teens with the tools they needed to prevent the dangers of underage drinking through its Power of Parents ® and Power of You(th) ® programs. The pages that follow will tell you more about the positive impact MADD accomplished this year. Together with our volunteers and staff, our generous donors, our partners in law enforcement, the justice system, legislature, our schools and you, we will continue to protect our roads, protect innocent families and create a future with No More Victims®.

Thank you for helping us save lives and serve people.

With gratitude,

Hon. David Strickland, Esq. Chairman of the Board

Debbie Weir Chief Executive Officer

Colleen Sheehey-Church National President

Made with FlippingBook Online newsletter