Viking Views Summer 2021 (FB)


Awards at the annual MARE/MO K-8 Association Conference in October of 2020. Jana (Champion) Caudle ‘96 was named the Raytown School District Teacher of the Year for the 2021-2022 school year. 5 | Area fraternity brothers got together on July 10 in Columbia at Jason Tharp’s home. L to R: Scott Sappington '98, Jason Tharp '99, Al VanDyne '96, Jared Garver '97, David Wood '96, Dennis Lamons '98. 2000s Ashley (McKay) Fowler ‘05 narrated "Discovering New York Suffrage Stories" for WNED (Western New York/ Southern Ontario PBS). Curtis Walk ‘06 was hired as the activities/athletic director for the Moberly Public School District. 6 | Christine (Long) Loggins ‘07 married Christopher Loggins on June 19th, 2020. Tyler Griffith ‘11 became the Fayette City Administrator in August of 2020. 7 | Chelsea (House) Hansen ‘11 received the Teacher of the Year Award at Midland Trail Elementary and was named Elementary Teacher of the Year for the Turner School District in Kansas City, Kansas. 8 | Pictured from left: Loke Lastimosa '08, Danielle (Charboneau) Callanan '06, Kelly Callanan '07, Cassie Chun-Ming '06, Ashley Charboneau-DiPaolo '06 On the island of Oahu at Ashley Charboneau-DiPaolo’s house. 9 | A portion of Highway 63 in-front of the Macon R-1 Public School in Macon, Missouri to be named after US Army Sergeant Hugh C. Dunn.

1970s John Lange ‘71 , is a member of Actors Equity working with the Hanns Wolters agency. John was recently cast in the film "The Cathedral" which began filming in New York on May 1, 2021. 1 | Warren M. Wenner, III ‘79 was the recipient of the 2021 National Woods Services Award by the Woods Services Foundation and the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America. This award is a national-level recognition for volunteer adults who provide outstanding service to Scouts with special needs. 1980s 2 | LaTonya M. (Blanden) Turner, Ph.D., ‘86 began in a new role as the dean of the Fred S. Klipsch Educators College at Marian University in Indianapolis in July of 2020. Dr. Turner is the first African American dean in Marian University history. 3 | In January of each year, a group of 1980s AZD alumni take a trip together. In 2020, they went to San Antonio, Texas. Pictured from left to right: Karen Green Bernsen, Barbi Hartley Helms, Carrie Garvey Lawson, Kelly (Call) Eaton '87, Ginger Sallee Murphy, and Nikki Saale Hart. 1990s 4 | Major Lance M. MacLaughlin ‘91 was promoted to the rank of lieutenant colonel January 1, 2021, and will serve as the assistant superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol. Yvette González Torres ‘95 was promoted to Assistant Principal at Jones College Prep High School. Rayetta (McKinney/Verts) Self ‘96 was the recipient of the MO K-8 Administrator of the Year at the Outstanding Rural Education










26 Viking Views | 2021

Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs