Register 2019

inspirational. We look forward to hosting him again in 2020 as part of our ongoing focus on the role of literature in Aotearoa New Zealand. To recognise National Poetry Day, College held its second annual poetry competition in August. Hosted in the Scholars’ Library in the Hare Memorial Building, this event provided a unique platform for boys to create and perform spoken word poetry on a wide range of topics. This year’s winner, Year 9 student Otto Elworthy, stole the show with a piece called “Sparrow”. Such was the success of this event, in 2020 we intend to combine this competition with the junior prize for public speaking. Scholarship English At the start of the year we celebrated the success of five students in the 2018 NZQA Scholarship English examination. Sam Howard, George Murray and Alex Hlavac were each awarded Scholarship, and Josh Ting was awarded Outstanding Scholarship. Wills Wynn-Thomas made us all incredibly proud by being awarded the Top Scholar Award

for English in New Zealand. This achievement is a testament not only to Wills’s impressive intellect and admirable work ethic, but also to the effort and dedication of all our teaching staff in English. PRIZE WINNERS I never cease to be amazed at just how much our boys cram into their busy schedules. We see some incredible talent pass through our classrooms, and it is a true privilege to work with and help shape the young men who will in turn shape society. Huge congratulations to all our prize winners in English this year.

The winner was Will Pryor, with Levi Astle and Harry Sharr runners-up. Year 9 Most Widely Read student Edward Nye Tancred Prize for Literature Year 9 – Tom Foster Year 10 – Thimeth Wijesinghe Year 12 – Angad Vraich Year 13 – Ellie Stevenson Denham Memorial Creative Writing Prize Year 10 – Yusef Elnahas Year 12 – Ben Davis Major Rattray Prize for Literature Year 13 – Ralph Chiang Year 13 – Logan Quigley

Top students Year 9 – George Couper Year 10 – Yusef Elnahas Year 11 – George Gearry Year 12 – John-Paul Lay Year 13 – Ellie Stevenson

Sian Evans HoD English STUDENT WRITING

Year 10 Speech Competition We were astounded by the scope and quality of speeches in the annual junior speech competition. For this special occasion, our esteemed judge was Jacqueline Gilbert, Head of English at St Andrew’s College.


Register 2019 Academic

Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs