Register 2019

LEADERSHIP Executive Principal’s Prize-giving Address

from Ian’s wisdom, experience and counsel. His firm hand on the tiller has set the school on the right path toward its future. Deputy Board Chair Hugh Lindo will step into the breach at the beginning of 2020. I would ask that we now thank and acknowledge Ian and congratulate Hugh. To the boys assembled, thank you for your contribution this year. Schools only exist to serve the needs of the children who attend, and it is vital that those who are the beneficiaries of the energy of a place like College are also constructively and positively engaged. There is no doubt that you have been so. I would like to acknowledge the boys who are leaving, especially our Year 13 students. You have, in various ways, been inspirational, and have shown through your commitment a true affection for this place. Your page has now been turned in College history, opportunities have been taken, friendships have been forged, glory days have been created … Thank you for your particular gift to the College story. I would be most remiss not to highlight Head Prefect Zach Gallagher and Deputy Head Prefect Max Heywood. When considering what we aspire to in the ideal College graduate, these two young men have exemplified in their roles a sense of confidence and humility while modelling personal excellence in every way. What is pleasing for me is the manner in which they have grown the two pivotal roles they have filled. Their student voice has been heard and that has been a very special part of their contribution. Could I ask you to acknowledge, thank and wish Zach, Max and all

our leavers well, as they leave school ready to embark on the next exciting phase of life. As always, there have been a number of staff changes in 2019. During the year we have welcomed to the teaching staff Mathematics teachers Dr Tom Hawkins and Tamara Lerios, English teacher Zac Knight, Technology teacher Sam Leary, and Physics teacher Victor Sue-Tang. Throughout the year we have also farewelled a number of staff and enabled new opportunities for others. Joe Eccleton left us to become principal of Cashmere High School after just three exceptional years at College, and Nicole Billante replaced him as Assistant Principal – Curriculum. Commerce teacher William Bell, who acted as Head of Department during the year, has become the school’s timetabler, replacing Physics teacher Chris Hill. We farewell and thank Mathematics teacher James Bartlett for his work and wish him well as a Mathematics lecturer at the University of Canterbury, and congratulate Tamara Lerios on her new role as Assistant Head of Department Mathematics. Classics teacher Chloe Harland and Art teacher Kate Kempthorne- Smith have both resigned following periods of parental leave, after having made wonderful contributions to their respective departments. Peter Cooper steps down as Head of Geography but remains on the teaching staff. He will be replaced by Neil Nicholson, following his successful tenure over the last nine years as Housemaster of Rolleston House. Peter has made a wonderful contribution to the Geography

Te¯ na¯ koutou katoa.

Warden of Christ’s College Bishop Peter Carrell, Chair of the College Board Dr Ian Town and members of the Board, special invited guests, staff, parents and students. Thank you for attending today for what I hope will be a celebration as we reflect back on the year that was and look forward to the future. I begin today by acknowledging our departing Board Chair Dr Ian Town, who will hand over the prizes. Ian has just reflected on his time here at College. He steps down today having overseen a modernisation of the Board in both its practice and membership and having been a driving force through a period of renewal for College. Suffice to say his exceptional leadership has enabled College to see itself honestly and openly in a period of significant challenge and change. In particular, Ian’s commitment to our For the boys. For our future . campaign was extraordinary. I know that I, along with other members of the Board and Executive, have directly benefited


Christ’s College Canterbury

Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs