Alumni Impumelelo 4

UJ researchers receive top honours at 2019 NRF Awards

and the provision of the necessary research facilities to enable the creation of knowledge, innovation and development in all fields of science and technology, including indigenous knowledge, thereby contributing to the improvement of the quality of life of all South Africans. Professor Thaddeus Metz Prof Metz is originally from the United States, where he received his PhD from Cornell University in 1997. In 2009, he became Professor (Research Focus) at the University of Johannesburg. Recent awards for Prof Metz’s research include: an A1 rating from the South African National Research Foundation (2019-2024); a Special Essay Competition Prize from the Association for the Philosophy of Judaism (2019); a Distinguished Professorship from UJ (2015-2019); and the 4th Distinguished Lecture in African Philosophy at the University of Calabar, Nigeria (2017). Professor Philip Hallinger

Four academics from the University of Johannesburg (UJ) were among the recipients of this year’s National Research Foundation (NRF) top awards in the science and research field. The NRF hosted its annual awards ceremony in the Western Cape on 12 September 2019, celebrating South African academic and research excellence. Three academics from UJ were acknowledged for either being A-rated for the first time, or for retaining their A-rating for a further term. They are: 1. Prof Thaddeus Metz from the Department of Philosophy (retained his A-rating for a further term and improve his rating from A2 to A1). 2. Prof Philip Hallinger from the Department of Education Leadership and Management (newly rated, received an A1-rating for the first time). 3. Prof John Maina from the Department of Zoology (retained his A2-rating for a further term). A-ratings are awarded to researchers who are acknowledged unequivocally by their peers as leading international scholars in their respective fields for the high quality and impact of their recent research outputs. Additionally, the Research Excellence Award for Next Generation Researchers was awarded to Geaneth Pertunia Mashile from UJ’s Department of Chemical Sciences, for outstanding academic performance by a final-year doctoral student. Said Prof Saurabh Sinha, UJ’s Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research and Internationalisation: “Through Professors Metz, Maina and Hallinger, UJ’s work inspires the world in philosophy, respiration and leadership development, respectively. Research is one of the cornerstones of our University and we are fortunate to be associated with such highly skilled individuals who advance South Africa’s growth in a knowledge-based world, for generations to come.’’ The mandate of the NRF is to promote and support research through funding, human resource development

Philip Hallinger is Professor of Educational Management at

Chulalongkorn University (Bangkok, Thailand) and Distinguished Visiting Professor at the Faculty of Education in the University of Johannesburg. His scholarly articles, which have achieved more than 16 000 citations, are the most highly cited articles in four different education journals. Prof Hallinger is Chief Co-Editor of the Journal of Educational Administration. Professor John Maina Having received his early education in Nairobi and Liverpool, Prof Maina was awarded a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVSc) in 1999, for a thesis entitled C omparative Respiratory Morphology: Functional Design of the Gas Exchangers. A veterinarian by profession, he joined UJ’s Department of Zoology in 2009. Prof Maina’s research interest and activity is in the area of Comparative Functional Respiratory Morphology. Other A-rated acdemics at UJ, who are still within their rating term are: Prof Jan Kramers, Prof Qingguo Wang, Prof Anthony Onwuegbuzie, Prof Michael Henning and Prof Nic Beukes.

From top: Prof Thad Metz, Prof Phillip Hallinger, Prof John Maina



Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs