The Sentry: Volume 05, Issue Orientation

CONTENTS

SUMMER 2020

F R OM T H E E D I T O R

VOLUME: 05 ISSUE: ORI

CONTENTS

Samantha Camp

COVER

Forum

PAGE 04

News

PAGE 05

Photobooth

PAGE 08

Leisure

PAGE 10

Noise STAFF

PAGE 13

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

Jaleesia Fobbs jaleesia.fobbs@ucdenver.edu

MANAGING & FORUM EDITOR

Alexander Elmore alexander.elmore@ucdenver.edu

I l lust rat ion: Maz ie Niel l · The Sent ry

COLLEGE DOESN'T HAVE TO BE SCARY, IT'S ABOUT WHAT YOU MAKE OF IT.

A H E R O ' S G U I D E T O C O L L E G E

NEWS EDITOR

Amanda Blackman amanda.blackman@ucdenver.edu

LEISURE EDITOR

Haley Frank haley.frank@ucdenver.edu

get scary and intimidating at times. For some, it’s a new environment with new places to learn and new people to meet. On top of that, your assignments are more challenging and learning to navigate and balance life and school ěþű ƪĩĩů ĢŎDzȀěƿŦƷ ܒ  æŻƿ ĢŻűܼƷ ţűŻǜ Ʒʼnĩ controls and it seems like everyone else knows what they’re doing except you, but that’s far from the truth. Regardless of where people are at in their journey one universal truth remains the same: No one actually knows what they’re doing either and that feeling of worry in the pit of your stomach, doubting if you’re even capable of handling all of this responsibility at once and whether or not you’ll be able to succeed is in all of us. Like anyone, doubt and fear can creep up behind corners when we least expect it and for a moment, can throw ƿƪ ŻDzŁ łƿþƢĢ ܒ  Sű ƷʼnŻƪĩ ůŻůĩűƷƪ ŻŁ ȀłʼnƷ ŻƢ ǴŦŎłʼnƷ ŎƷܼƪ ĩþƪǢ ƷŻ ŦŻƪĩ ĚþŦþűěĩ܌ stamina, and you might end up getting

a scrape or two. And in that situation, where everything looks bleak, that’s when you have to remember that there’s a reason why you’re here and there’s a reason why you’ve come this far. Up until this point you’ve battled and faced so many monsters, college is just another obstacle for you to get across. ÃƪĩǜʼnþƷǢŻƿܼǛĩŦĩþƢűĩĢ܌ȀűĢƢĩƪŻƿƢěĩƪ around you, look for people who can help, and most importantly don’t give ƿƟ ܒ  SƷůþǢ ƷþţĩǢŻƿ ŦŻűłĩƢ ƷʼnþűŻƷʼnĩƢƪ or you might have to come back and try again, and as frustrating as it may be, know that everyone, in our own time, all complete our journey one way or another.

NOISE EDITOR

Kennedy Erhart kennedy.erhart@ucdenver.edu

DESIGN EDITOR

Jeremy Holder jeremy.holder@ucdenver.edu

PHOTOGRAPHY EDITOR

Taelar Pollmann taelar.johansen@ucdenver.edu

JALEESIA FOBBS

S o here you are, you just gradu- ated high school and now you’re ready to begin your four-year journey in the world that is college. At this point you’ve collected tokens and weapons and have worked hard to build up your arsenal to prepare you for this ůŻůĩűƷ þűĢ ŦĩƷůĩ Ěĩ Ʒʼnĩ ȀƢƪƷ ƷŻ ƪþǢ ǢŻƿƢ ĩDzŁŻƢƷƪ ʼnþǛĩűܼƷ łŻűĩ ƿűűŻƷŎěĩĢ ܒ  S know you might be new to the Univer- sity experience, but just know you’re not in this adventure alone. College can

COPY EDITORS

Austin Bolton austin.bolton@ucdenver.edu

Isaiah Mancha isaiah.mancha@ucdenver.edu

PHOTOGRAPHERS

Sophie Auriti, Samantha Camp, Nicholas Dimond, Jonathan Enssle, John Mazzetta, Victoria Mo ! at, Benjamin Neufeld, Alex Stallsworth, Aman Tewolde Sophie Auriti, Tommy Clift, Ahmad Dabbas, Aarti Dureja, Sang Dao, Taylor “Kat” Goodman, Lorraine Kelly, Trevor Leach, John Mazzetta, Lionel Mendonsa, Victoria Mo ! at, Gillian Russo, Frankie Spiller, Kaia Stallings, Evelyn Witterholt Sophie Auriti, Tatianna Dubose, Taylor “Kat” Goodman, Rigby Guerrerro, April Kinney, Carter Klassen, Max Lopez, Alex Stallsworth

WRITERS

T H E S E N T R Y O F F I C E

Mailing Address

GET INVOLVED

PITCH MEETINGS

Love us? Hate us? Write us. Send your com- ments, questions, and howls of grief to jaleesia. fobbs@ucdenver.edu with “Letter to the Editor” in the subject line. Ȅĩ Sentry editors strive to print factually ƷƢƿĩ þűĢ ěŻűěĩƟƷƿþŦŦǢ ěŻƢƢĩěƷ ŎűŁŻƢůþƷŎŻű ܒ  ȃþƷ being said, mistakes do occur. Please email jaleesia.fobbs@ucdenver.edu if you spot any errors. Ȅĩ Sentry is a publication for and by the students of CU Denver and is paid for by student fees and advertising revenue. Ȅĩ Sentry is published every Wednesday during the academic year and is distributed throughout the Auraria Campus and the greater Denver metropolitan area.

ƿƢ ƟŎƷěʼn ůĩĩƷŎűłƪ ܣ ȃƿƢƪĢþǢ ĩǛĩűŎűłƪ from 6:30-8:30 p.m. in Tivoli #345) are in full swing. Pitchmeetings are open to the CUDenver community with plenty of pizza, story ideas, and enthusiasm. To otherwise get involved with Ȅĩ Sentry, be sure to check for updates on our social ůĩĢŎþ܌ƪƷŻƟĚǢƷʼnĩŻDzȀěĩ܌ŻƢƪĩűĢþŁƢŎĩűĢŦǢĩůþŎŦ to jaleesia.fobbs@ucdenver.edu.

CU Denver Sentry Campus Box 83 P.O. Box 173364 Denver, CO 80217

ILLUSTRATORS

Street Address

Tivoli Student Union Suite #345 900 Auraria Parkway

PROGRAM COORDINATOR & ADVERTISER

Natasha Sherrod natasha.sherrod@ucdenver.edu

Phone

HIRING

(303) 315-7290

At this time, Ȅĩ ®ĩűƷƢǢ has closed applica- tions for writers, photographers, and illustrators to be a part of Ȅĩ®ĩűƷƢǢ team. Applications will re-open summer 2020.

FACULTY ADVISER

Teague Bohlen teague.bohlen@ucdenver.edu

Online

cu-sentry.com Facebook: /CUSentry SűƪƷþłƢþů܋ ޢ Ã ܚ ®ĩűƷƢǢ ¼ǜŎƷƷĩƢ܋ ޢ ěƿ ܚ ƪĩűƷƢǢ

Made with FlippingBook Learn more on our blog