December 2020


photos by Molly Kendrick

T his historic English Brick Tudor home was built in 1935. The architect, Lambert DeKoning, also built St. Edward’s Catholic Church in Texarkana in 1922. The home’s current owners, Summer and Cory Floyd, were a wealth of knowledge about the rich history of their beautiful home and were happy to share it with us. The main house on this property is 3,200 square feet and has three bedrooms and two-and-a-half baths. This property also includes a one bedroom, one bath, fully equipped carriage house. Originally, the exterior featured diamond style windows, brick, stucco, and timber facade with a stone wall enclosing the perimeter. “In 1935, the world was in the middle of the Great Depression,” said Summer, “so, it’s quite impressive that a home of this style was being built while so many Americans were struggling,”

The Weigel family was the original occupant of this timeless beauty. Mr. H.T. Weigel was a local bank president. According to word-of-mouth accounts passed on to the Floyds, “Mrs. Weigel oversaw the daily building process and sat out in the yard watching the workers.” They had one daughter, and Summer shared that they have been told that “she used to sneak out of her bedroom window to meet her suitor, whom she later married in front of the fireplace in our living room.” She, JoAnn Weigel Little, recently passed away in her nineties. The property comprises the main house, along with a separate carriage house and summer house. In the 1900s, the carriage house contained horse-drawn carriages, which were used before automotives controlled the roads. Now, it is a fully renovated guest house with a full kitchen. An attached two-car garage was later



Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs