Maryland Judiciary Annual Report 2021

Administrative Judge Keith A. Baynes, Circuit Court for Cecil County, presided over the ceremony. “I am proud of every one of the graduates,” said Judge Baynes. “It is rewarding to see them grow, handle their addictions, and become productive members of the community.” During its 15-year history, 525 criminal court defendants have been placed in the CCADC program, which has a 43 percent graduation rate. “The participants, along with the others who have graduated our program, were ready to change their lives. We simply provided them with the support and resources to do it,” said Sheri Lazarus, Cecil County Adult Drug Court coordinator. “For our team, it’s not just a job, we care about the participants and want them to have as much success in their lives as possible. We want the program participants to live and experience life through a good, solid foundation of recovery.”

Circuit Court for Cecil County

CECIL COUNTY ADULT DRUG COURT CELEBRATES FOUR GRADUATES On April 23, 2021, four individuals were recognized for their successful completion of the Cecil County Adult Drug Court (CCADC) program during a graduation ceremony at the Circuit Court for Cecil County .

• Members of the Maryland Judiciary participated in a dedication ceremony renaming the Kent County courthouse for Judge George B. Rasin, Jr. The event was held outside on a beautiful spring afternoon in front of the courthouse located at 103 Cross Street in Chestertown, Maryland. Family, friends, and colleagues joined to memorialize the late Judge George B. Rasin, Jr. The effort to rename the courthouse was spearheaded by the Kent County Bar Association with support from the Maryland Judiciary. The Board of County Commissioners officially changed its name on December 17, 2019, but due to the ongoing pandemic, the dedication ceremony was delayed until May 14, 2021.

From left to right: C. Daniel Saunders, Kent County Bar Association; Judge Paul M. Bowman, Circuit Court for Kent County (Retired); Judge Gale Rasin, Circuit Court for Baltimore City (Retired); Kent County District Court Judge John E. Nunn III; Administrative Judge Harris P. Murphy; Maryland Court of Appeals Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera; District Court of Maryland Chief Judge John P. Morrissey.

2021 Annual Report | 11

Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs