Charting the Course




The Task Force established a shelter facility in Fridley, MN. It housed 12 women and children; and was named Alexandra House, defender of womankind.

The Anoka County Task Force for Battered Women (ACT) established Safe Houses and Safe House providers.

Minnesota Legislation: New legislation prohibited the use of marriage and cohabitation as a defense in sexual assault cases.

MN Legislation: Probable cause law was amended to allow police to arrest abusers away from their homes; and Orders for Protection (OFP) can order abusers into treatment or counseling.

The first annual Domestic Violence Awareness Week was celebrated nationally.

1979... Safe Houses Program Support, legal advocacy, and referrals were helpful, but women and their children ultimately needed a safe place to stay during their crisis. Without the funding to purchase or build a shelter at that time, the Task Force established the “Safe Houses” Program. Volunteers opened their homes to abused women and children and provided for their basic needs. They could stay in volunteer advocates’ homes for a few days or even a few months. 1980... A New Name and a Shelter In 1980, the Anoka County Task Force for Battered Women opened the first shelter for battered women and their children in Anoka County. The shelter, located in Fridley, MN, was able to house 12 women and children. The Task Force named the new shelter after the Catholic saint, St. Alexandra, whose name means “defender of woman kind,” and one of the organization’s founders, Lexi Selvig. The shelter was named Alexandra House.


1) First emergency shelter in Anoka County. Alexandra House, Fridley, MN. 2) Catholic Saint: St. Alexandra, defender of womankind.



Made with FlippingBook Annual report