The Bulletin: March 2020


PRESIDENT’S MESSAGE Someone asked me the other day what I worried about the most and I have been thinking a lot about the answer. The fact is I worry about a lot of things, but my major concern is whether we will have the funds to continue to improve our grounds and facilities in the years to come. We are fortunate to belong to one of the best private country clubs in the country and none of us want that to change. And like most clubs, we have a big list of future capital needs ranging from the maintenance of our buildings, grounds, and equipment to major new projects such as renovating the north course. This year, under the leadership of the Strategic Planning Committee, being chaired by Megan Greenberg, we are going to work at developing a process and criteria for how the Board can prioritize future capital projects. I hope to share more on this later this year. As I mention in many of my messages, the most important determinant of our future success is maintaining a healthy membership level. We start 2020 in a very stable position. Membership has been relatively flat for a few years now, which is a significant accomplishment given changes in the country club industry and the local economy. However, even a modest growth would make it easier to plan and fund future projects. This is the prime season for membership recruitment and your club has never looked better! So please do whatever you can to help the membership committee identify and attract new candidates for membership. Thank you! Gary Ferguson President

Gary Ferugson President

Melissa Riegel Vice President John S. Wellons Treasurer Thomas C. Humphrey Secretary DIRECTORS Class of 2020 D. Michael Gioffre, Jr. Adam G. Landis Jonathan N. Saunders Edward A. Tarlov

Martha White Class of 2021 Thomas A. Beck

Zachary L. Chipman Kimberly A. Ciconte Robert W. Friz Megan S. Greenberg

Lisa A. Schmidt David E. Wilks

Edward K. Wissing Honorary Directors Joseph F. Hacker, III Richard H. Keller Advisory Directors Robert G. Hackett, Jr. Calvert A. Morgan, Jr. Pierre duPont Hayward Allen M. Terrell, Jr. John F. Porter, III


Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online