Mercyhurst Magazine Fall 2017

Carly Mazur Nicole McAlpin

Haley Thon Shannon Tichenor Melanie Todd Hannah Tombaugh Cody Traber Traber Maria Trigueros

Conor McCooey Jr. Durrell McDonald Maggie McGouldrick Marissa McKnight Ryan Mehnert Laura Mejia Rachel Mergenthaler Ryan Michaels Ross Molinaro IV Dayana Moncada Adrian Monty Sky Moody Victoria Morris Kayley Morrison Alexis Nale Riley Norton Frances O’Neil Ruthanne Oakes Fanny Perstrom Ryan Petrossi Natalie Piaggesi Veronica Plys Natalie Popielski Collin Popson Catherine Pozum Sarah Puckett Sonia Puerta Isaac Rader Catherine Rainey Emily Raker Caitlin Reddington Benjamin Reinert Jacob Rice Taylor Rider Joseph Rieger Kelsey Riggs Drew Robinson Matthew Rogers Ainars Safonovs Amanda Salasek Richard Sanders Jr. Jenny Santiago Hayleigh Schmidt Celina Schroer Mitchell Seelinger Michael SeifertJr. Heather Shadle Ashlyn Shafer Emily Shanahan Danielle Silva Jillian Skinner Michal Smid Rachel Sobina Hannah Somich Patrick Spizarny Andrew Starry Eric Steinwachs Rachel Stucke Heather Swede Michael Rowe Sarah Ruesch Nicholas Rump Conall Ryan Beatriz Safe

Jessika Turner Sarah Uglow Jesse Valasek Thomas Valerio

Joseph Waidl Daniel Ward Jacob Washabaugh Rebecca Watts Sarah Wegrzyn Erica Weis Megan Whiddon Janelle Williams Jaquan Williams Nicholas Wnek Amanda Wolterink Josephine Wright

Senior Sam Lioi, left, joins President Michael Victor with Senior Class Gift committee members, from left, Alyssa Archer, Jimmy Duncan, Kelly Fergus and Mathew Jury. SENIORS ANNOUNCE GIFT OF AFTER-HOURS COFFEE BAR The Class of 2017 hopes to keep Mercyhurst Lakers up at night starting this fall with its senior class gift: an after-hours cofee bar in the 24/7 Student Study Lounge in Hammermill Library. The Senior Class Gift Committee presented Mercyhurst President Michael T. Victor with a check for $12,015.55, representing contributions from more than 65 percent of class members. The project is estimated to cost $9,000, which includes the installation of a custom-built cofee bar, purchase and licensing of a cash register, and new cofee-making equipment, utensils, cofee and accoutrements. The countertop will feature a collage of student photos to add a personal touch. While the project was kept under wraps for much of fall semester, fundraising began as early as October 2016 when the committee hosted a Halloween party and social media costume contest at the Cornerstone Bar & Grill, and later Christmas festivities in early December. To amass more support for the class gift, the committee spilled the beans in early December with a video featuring a “sleepy” President Victor in need of a cofee break. Spring semester fundraisers included a Senior Week Launch Party, a Senior Date Auction, a 100 Days Party, a Senior vs. Faculty/Staf basketball game, and annual end-of-year activities. “We truly could not have done this without the support and generous donations of the senior class,” said dance major Alyssa Archer ’17, committee chair. “Mercyhurst has been very good to us in providing an excellent education and home away from home, and this gift is a small way to show our gratitude.” The Senior Class Gift is an annual tradition that gives the graduating class an opportunity to leave its mark on campus with a permanent gift of their choosing. Under the supervision of Alumni Relations, the Senior Class Gift campaign is the frst opportunity for soon-to-be alumni to learn the value of fundraising and giving back to their alma mater. “I encourage the senior class to always remember their time here at Mercyhurst and to cherish their memories and their friendships,” said Lindsay Cox Frank ’12 ’14M, director of alumni engagement. “My wish is that no matter how near or far they go, they know they always have a home here at Mercyhurst and they always remember and appreciate all they have received at Mercyhurst.”

Lawrence Yurick Kaitlin Zapolski Alejandra Zarate Garcia Carly Zimmerman PARENTS Leadership Giving Society Anonymous Mary Ann Baldauf ’85 Jefrey M. Best ’77 John F. Bonamo Suzanne C. Bonamo

Theresa Bone + Thomas Bone + Amy Brooks

Douglas Brooks Lisa E. Chismire Margaret S. Coletta Robert D. Coletta Mary Ellen Dahlkemper

Luigi Damasceno Nancy Damasceno Rosemary D. Durkin, Esq. ’77 Laurie Enns Thomas Enns Kathleen G. Gallagher Philip M. Gallagher Ellen L. Gordon Andrea T. Jefress, M.D. William Jefress Gregory T. Kessler

Julie A. Kessler Robert Kopf III

Judy Little Paul Little Henryka Makowski Janusz Makowski Marc McAndrew ’88 Donald R. McKeever Linda T. McKeever

John M. Mizia Jr. Susan Molinaro Anthony J. Paradiso, Esq. ’83


Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online