Mercyhurst Magazine Summer 2016

Class notes


Spouse of: Patricia Sontheimer Yahn ’50 (Walter Yahn) Jane Canada McNierney ’60 (Bronson McNierney, M.D.) Maureen Hunt Hinkle ’74 (Andrew Hinkle) Joan Mohr Krist ’77 (Paul Krist)

Mary Lou Cuddyre Ghezzi ‘63 Sally Lorei ’63 Colleen McCaferty Moren ’63 Therese Tofinski Walter, Ph.D. ’63 Mary Ann Kelly Anderson ‘65 Donna Cacciatore Bevelacqua ’65 Cheryl Bogacki Parulis ’66 Mary Morocco Pacsi ‘69 Candace Sporer Lauer ’70 Geraldine Hunter McCartney ’70 Beverly Miller ‘70 Katherine Duda Newman ’71 Mary Eng ’72 Fran Ferron ’73 Paul McAndrew ’73 Mark Zine ’74 John Maki ’76 Martin Miglioretti ’76 Timothy Miller ‘77 Barbara Withrow Ronksley ’78 Sue Hammill Rinke ‘80

Bertha Halperin Blau ’39 Elizabeth Trippe Massello ‘41 Eileen Rehler Shannon ‘42 Catherine McMillan ‘42 Maudie White ’42 Sr. Marcia McDonald, RSM ’44 Loretta Crowley Bauer ’45 Margaret Scillion Cannon ’45 Elaine Brown Schuster ‘45 Marilynne Cooper Sullivan ’45 Anne Frances Cavanaugh ’46 Mary Blumle ’47 Sally Brigham Miller ‘47 Sr. Maura Smith, RSM ‘48 Jeanne Ledoux Linek ‘48 Margaret Phister Knox ’49 Marilyn Langmyer Angevine ‘50 Elizabeth Smith Grode ‘50 Lucille Wachter Powers ’50 Adeline Rees ‘50 Charlotte Voss Shultz ‘50 Elizabeth Todd Dyring ’52 Sr. Marianna Harrison, O.P. ‘53 Louise Kamenjar ’53 Frances Chang Tu ’55 Mary Broderick McCormick ’55 Dorothy Rudge Thomas ’56 Virginia Katsaromitsos ’57 Joan Csernyicky Lynch ’57 Priscilla Prenatt Oliver ’57 Ann Bowman Brunner ’58 Mary Donatelli Fenton ’58 Maureen Clancy Merrill ’58 Vivetta Petronio, Ph.D. ’58 Sr. M. Judith Uzzo, RSM ‘59 Frances Balzer Yokajty ’59 Beverly Telepak Baugh ‘61

P. Kelly Tompkins ’78 (Cathy Tompkins) L. Angela Chirillo Shearon ’89 (Thomas)

Parent of: Janis Bodnar Hall ’65 (Marjorie Bodnar) Janet Boling Powers ’68 and Reinette Boling Jankovic ’63 ( Rita Boling) Mary Sroka Kollin ’69 (Francis Sroka) William Dopierala, Esq. ’72 (Barbara, also grandmother of Emily Dopierala ’08 ) Patricia Flanagan Gaurilof ’73 (Mary Conboy) Gail Hudak Stahura ’79 (Sophie Hudak) Sharon Artuhevich Jarzomski ’80 and Janet Artuhevich Miller ’79 (Walter Artuhevich) Teresa Borowski Taylor ’82, Nancy Borowski Recker ’76 and Steven Borowski ’85 (John Borowski) Kevin Armstrong ’85 , David Armstrong ’86 , Mary Armstrong ’94 (William Armstrong, also father-in-law of Leslie Hafenmaier Armstrong ’90 ) Bernadine Tomczak Habursky ’85, Michael Tomczak ’79 and Christine Tomczak Fachetti ’81 (Leonard) Timothy Latimer ’86 and Gregory Latimer ’88 (grandfather of T.J. Latimer ’15 ) Thomas Rinke ’89 and Randall Rinke ’88 ( Sue Rinke ’80 ) Denise Ryan ’91, Michelle Ryan ’94 and Heather Ryan ’96 (Dennis Ryan) Pamela Jonischek Chodubski ’93 (Diane) Catherine Bammel Hulme ’98 (Patricia Bammel)

Laurie Foster ’82 Randy Faipler ‘84 Helen Heisler ‘87 Jennifer Conmy Rattray ’88 Thomas Shearon ’88

Joel Johnston ‘92 George Hurta ‘96 Andrew Boncek ’97 Rick Sawyer ’99 Diane Mayo ’05 Eric Mead ‘07 Robin Green ’09 Andrew Loomis ’09 Donald Higgins ’10 Molly Moore ‘10 Ashley Bond ’11 Sean Van Der Wal ’11 Jef Young ’13 Cortney Ferguson ‘15

Danielle Feller Kaiser ’10 (Toni Rae Feller) Sarah Balczon ’12 (RaeAnn Botton Balczon) Jessica Horan-Kunco ’13M (John Horan) FRIENDS OF THE UNIVERSITY Jacklyn Baumann Dr. William E. Bryan , former professor David Cooper , former professor Philip Fatica , former adjunct faculty member Kenneth Lochbaum John Masterson , trustee Laurene Spires

Remembering Sr. Maura Smith, RSM When Sister Maura Smith died Nov. 13, President Michael T. Victor noted, “We lost a true Mercyhurst legend today.”

received the Mercyhurst Sustainability Award in 2009, and both Mercyhurst’s annual Earth Day Lecture Series and the Peace Garden behind Warde Hall are named in her honor. While on the Mercyhurst faculty, she chaired two task forces that introduced new curricula to the college. It was at her urging that Mercyhurst developed its pioneering Learning Diferences Program in 1986. Mercyhurst honored her as a Distinguished Alumna in 1996 and the Department of Religious Studies presented her with its Oscar Romero Award in 2006. 29

A 1948 Mercyhurst graduate, she taught biology and secondary education at Mercyhurst from 1970 to 1977. After moving on to leadership positions at Mercyhurst Preparatory School and with the Sisters of Mercy, she served as a Mercyhurst Trustee from 1980 to 2012. Best known for her commitment to environmental issues, she helped create the sustainability studies program at Mercyhurst and co-founded the Green Team in 2000. She

Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online