Mercyhurst Magazine Summer 2016

Storied past, promising future

3 CHAPELS Three chapels grace the Mercyhurst North East campus, each rich with its own history. St. Mary’s Chapel, built in 1901, was the primary place of worship for the Redemptorists and is still used by students today. It boasts fve magnifcent marble altars. The Stone Chapel, now an intimate dining space for the culinary program, was once used by the Gray Sisters, who cared for the Redemptorists. The executive board room in Neumann Hall was also once a chapel. Though the altar was removed, its beautiful stained glass windows remain.

25 facts for MNE’s 25th anniversary

By Jennifer Smith

2007 The year a new health care center opened west of campus. The $2.9 million facility was a collaborative efort between Hamot and Mercyhurst North East and brought a wider range of health care services to both students and the community.

Seeing – and seizing – the opportunity for a better future has been a part of Mercyhurst North East since its inception. It started 25 years ago when visionary leaders at Mercyhurst and in the North East community saw the potential in transforming a vacant seminary into an 84-acre campus to provide post-secondary education for capable learners. And it continues today, as about 850 students access 24 associate degree programs, eight certifcate programs and two bachelor’s degree programs, with the opportunity to earn a degree in two years or less and enter highly sought-after, well-paid positions or pursue additional education. To celebrate Mercyhurst North East’s storied past and promising future, we’ve compiled 25 fun facts and memorable milestones.

9 SPORTS Nine athletic programs are ofered. Mercyhurst North East students excel on the court as well as in the classroom, with eight of the 20 awards at the 2016 graduation going to athletes.


Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online