Berlin Law Firm December 2018

Oklahoma Issues New Laws for Past and Future Offenders

How to Access the Sex Offender Registry

Sex crimes occur more often than anyone really knows. Fortunately, for the victims of these crimes and their families who do report and have the offender successfully prosecuted, the laws are constantly being revised in order to hold convicted sex offenders more accountable for their crimes. Convicted sex offenders are required to register as sex offenders with the State of Oklahoma. Once registered, the offender is logged in to the state’s sex offender database and online registry. To access the Oklahoma Department of Corrections Sex Offender Registry, type sors. into your web browser. Once there, users can access the offenders’ names and addresses through the registry or by using Google Maps. In addition to simply being registered with the State of Oklahoma, there are other laws in place that the registered sex offender must follow. Up until November 1 of this year, Oklahoma State Statute 21 OS section 1125 stated that registered offenders were prohibited from violating a zone of safety of 500 feet around any elementary, junior, or high school,

day care center, playground, or park. Additionally, the Sex Offender Registration Act 21 OS section 581-590 in Oklahoma, among a number of other requirements, prohibits a registered sex offender from living within 2,000 feet of a park, school, playground, or child care center. While these laws are still on the books and enforced in the State of Oklahoma, 21 OS 1125 recently underwent an important change. Effective November 1, 2018, in addition to being barred from these zones, registered offenders can no longer live within 1,000 feet of their victim’s home, nor can they loiter in the areas that their victim frequents. In the past, if victims didn’t happen to live near a school zone or park, their abuser could relocate to the same neighborhood and even move in next door if they wanted. If you have any other questions about the updated state statute or how to access the offender registry, please don’t hesitate to give our office a call at 918-770-0172.

Inspired Be

Holiday Roast Prime Rib


Inspired by Food Network

1 tablespoon fresh thyme, chopped

1 bone-in prime rib (6–7 pounds)

8 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

2 cups red wine

4 cups beef stock


5. To make au jus, place roasting pan with drippings from roast over 2 burners on high. Add wine and scrape pan as liquid reduces. Add beef stock and cook until reduced by half. Finally, sprinkle in thyme. 6. Slice roast and serve topped with au jus.

1. 30 minutes before cooking, remove roast from fridge and let sit until it reaches room temperature. 2. Heat oven to 350 F. 3. Make small slits in prime rib and stuff with slices of garlic. Liberally season with salt and pepper. 4. Place a rack inside a roasting pan and roast prime rib for 2 hours, until medium-rare.

3 Berlin Law Firm •

Made with FlippingBook Learn more on our blog