Register 2022


building a legacy for those who follow you. Well done, be proud. Term 1 was unusual to say the least. The consequences of Covid-19 resulted in times when we had nearly a third of the House away from school and the combination of reduced group sizes, short lunchtimes and absentees made interhouse activities stall. We did get a portion of the athletics completed, but nothing else. The following terms we were just about back to normal. However, we did get to celebrate several achievements, both inside and outside College. Following the 2021 NZQA examinations, we were delighted to have James Drury gain his Gold Badge, with William Law re-awarded his Gold Badge, and Jasper Moss re-awarded his Gold Badge and gaining a Gold Tie. At the end of the year, William and Jasper were awarded scholarships for tertiary study, with William gaining the University of Otago Leaders of Tomorrow Entrance Scholarship and UC Hiranga Scholarship for Academic Excellence, and Jasper gaining the UC Hiranga Scholarship for Academic Excellence, as well as the UC Kaupeka Ture Faculty of Law First Year Award for Excellence. Throughout the year, Character Awards (for Years 9–11) have been presented to Eli Clarkson, Tom Gardiner, Jackson Grace (2), Bill Li (2), Josh Shannahan (5), Liam Singer, Ollie Bloy, Ihaka Cate, Jacob Jacques, Alf Markham, Sam Pfahlert, James Burt, Dan Kelly and Blake McCarthy. With MANifesto Awards (for Years 12–13) presented to Henry Acton-Adams (2), Max Cookeson, James Drury, George Howard, Ash Cassidy, Jacob Clements, Ciaran Huntley and Koen Jager.

Christ’s College Colours were awarded to Ihaka Cate (Basketball), Jacob Clements (Basketball and Water Polo), Maurice Gillard (Clay bird Shooting) and Henry Lassen (Clay bird Shooting). Christ’s College Honours were awarded to Jacob Clements (Drama), Ryan Gu (Instrumental Music), Ciaran Huntley (Drama) and Andrew Welsh (Instrumental Music). Sam Nicholl was 8th overall at the match-racing nationals in Auckland, being in Year 10 and competing in the U19 grade; and Callum Gard gained national titles with his club in the U16 K4 200m, K4 500m, and the junior mixed relay 100m event at the New Zealand Canoe Sprint Championships at Lake Karapiro. Mun Chi Jager and James Drury competed in the Canterbury Secondary Schools’ swimming, with James gaining 2nd place in the open 4x50m freestyle, 3rd place in the 16–18 year old 4x50m freestyle, and 4th place in the open 100m butterfly, while Mun Chi set a Canterbury Secondary School championship record in winning the U14 100m freestyle, and was named an outstanding junior swimmer in Canterbury in 2022. Jasper Moss won the 2km para event at the Canterbury Secondary Schools’ road race, and then went on to win his third national title in the senior race at the New Zealand Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships in a time of 8:19. Henry Lassen, at the North Island Secondary Schools’ shooting competition, was placed High Overall (top) in the individual skeet with 24/25 targets, and then paired with Maurice Gillard to take the teams title with a total of 45/50. Ihaka Cate had a memorable basketball season, being part of the

Housemaster: Dr Craig Aitken Deputy Housemaster/Mentor: Dr Tom Hawkins Mentors: Kate Belton, Nikki Bleyendaal, Emma Bracken, Steve Everingham, Erin Rutherford Head of House: Jacob Clements Deputy Head of House: Jack Brent House Prefects: Ash Cassidy, Will Churcher, Jack Coles, Maurice Gillard, George Hudson, Ciaran Huntley, Koen Jager, William Law, Tom McFarlane, Jasper Moss, George Mounce, Joe Pfahlert, Jack Thelning At the final Somes House prize- giving, the key messages were to accept change as being an opportunity for you, work together as a pack, and do not be too worried about the future. I hope that through 2022 you have been able to follow Abby Wambach’s advice of: “I’m going to gather the people I respect, admire and trust most. I’m going to support them when they need it and ask them for help when I need it”. In 2023, you need to do the same. After the Somes House prize-giving, we found that we had been a joint winner of the Interhouse Trophy, with Flower's House, for 2022. This is a reflection of the way the House has managed to keep together in


Christ’s College Canterbury

Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online