Register 2022

FAREWELL SERVICE It was not until Sunday 18 September that the school finally managed to have the Choral Eucharist service to farewell Rev’d Bosco Peters. This was an occasion for the Choir to really excel and enjoy preparing a special setting of the Eucharist. Haydn’s Missa Brevis Sancti Joannis de Deo was a great mass to celebrate Rev’d Peters’ time at College, and through the beautiful movements, we were able to develop a very refletive and moving tribute to both Rev’d Peters and his wife, Helen. Treble Oscar Stove rose to the challenge by singing the demanding

praised the Choir for its “beautiful, balanced programme that fully captured the demands of Mozart’s Benedictus ”. He also loved the energy and harmonic resources that the Choir brought to College waiata, Ko te whakapono ki te atua . The Choir received the award for the best performance of a classical work, and once again Schola Cantorum received the award for the Best Male Choir at the festival. While neither choir was selected for the National Finale, they were both selected to perform at the Cadenza festival in Timaru, but declined the invitation because of other engagements.

solo in the Benedictus movement. The anthem commissioned for the service, To walk with your God , was also presented. ADVENT AND CAROL SERVICES No choir year is completed without the annual Advent Service and Carols on the Quad. The Advent service included both Medbury School and The Cathedral Grammar School, and their advent carols added to the occasion. This year, it was fitting to acknowledge Chrissie Badger, Director of Music


Back Row: E Kuo, GD Robertson, OC Glossop, JM Hooker (Instrumental Scholar), TA Foster, EI Davidson, MN Brett, AW Gifford (Choral Scholar), EJ Nye (Choral Scholar), AJM Law, LA Short, ARL Welsh Fourth Row: C Fox, OLT Biggs, AJ Whitteker, ODJ Du Toit, HC Vaughan (Choral Scholar), RJG Kidd, JM Burt, NT Winefield, AS Nijjar, JPS Ratulomai, NF Yee, FW Coates, DJW Laidlaw Third Row: JT Saunders (Performing Arts Scholar), TT Gajamange, OC Young, B Geng-Wang, SHG Belcher, GB Zhang, AD Anderson (Performing Arts Scholar), FP O’Gara, ATG Fulton, AJ Johnston, DJS Wayne, ELE McVicar, A Intoratat, DC Robertson, DJF Wilson, Z Xiao, RY Gu Second Row: J Wada, MJ Williams, CJ Wood, DC Edmundson, PWA Beasley, AP Van Wyk, L Wang, AS Nijjar, HT Visakan, OP Gosling, PF Newton, CP de Costobadie, Y Kwon, H Ye, WCJ Cross, CM Hill, FAO Thomas, NN Pathirana Front Row: ID Heap, JA Higginson, Q Chen (Instrumental Scholar), Y Elnahas (Chapel Prefect), OCR Jones (Choral Scholar), HAO Wynn Thomas, OA Stove (Co-head Treble/Performing Arts Scholar), Mr RJ Aburn (Director of Music), JWR Griffin (Head of Choir), Mr NL Sutcliffe (Organist), MGK Ferguson (Co-head Treble/Choral Scholar), RD Primus, TJ Whitteker (Choral Scholar), RA McClean (Crucifer), TS Wijesinghe, AB Mahon, HD Vincent (Chapel Prefect) Absent: TT Aikawa, WRI Butler, AJ Feasey, WJC Morris, The Rev’d CC Pickering (Chaplain), AB Roberts, JS Rofe, KL Thiele, GS Wilson


Christ’s College Canterbury

Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online