Status of Ignition Interlock Laws States that require ignition interlocks for all offenders have experienced significant reductions in drunk driving fatalities. For example, drunk driving fatalities have decreased by 52 percent in West Virginia since its law was enacted in 2008. Drunk driving fatalities in Arizona have dropped 41 percent since 2007, and other states, such as Mississippi, Louisiana, Kansas and Delaware, have experienced reductions of 28 to 39 percent. IGNITION INTERLOCKS Combined with enforcement efforts, ignition interlocks are the best-proven countermeasure available to stop drunk driving. Today, 30 states and Washington, D.C. require ignition interlocks for all offenders, and every state in the nation has an ignition interlock law in the books. In addition to the 30 states with all-offender interlock laws, nine other states require ignition interlocks for first-time offenders with a BAC of .15 or greater, and two — Pennsylvania and Iowa for .10 and higher. Only two states reserve interlocks only for repeat offenders: Massachusetts and Idaho. Other states require interlocks for repeat offenders but allow judges the option to order the devices for first-time offenders too: Montana, Indiana and Michigan. However, interlocks are rarely, if ever, used for first-time offenders in these states.
MS AL GA
Mandatory for all first offenders with a BAC of .15 or greater (unless if BAC is noted differently)
Mandatory for all repeat offenders
Discretionary or optional law
A California pilot program requires interlocks for all convicted DUI offenders in four counties
Revised July, 2017
Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs