Mercyhurst Magazine Summer 2016

O’Neil Society honors those making planned gifts The O’Neil Society recently celebrated its 25th anniversary, yet its roots go back much further in the history of Mercyhurst University. The society is named for James and Orva O’Neil, whose gifts to Mercyhurst during the 1930s funded not only Christ the King Chapel, but also the adjoining Queen’s Chapel and the tower where it resides, now an iconic landmark on the campus. Their generosity in making the frst planned gift to the university has inspired dozens to follow with gifts of their own. Individuals who have included Mercyhurst in some sort of planned gift are provided membership in this special society. Planned gifts to Mercyhurst can help grow a number of key areas at Mercyhurst and can be made with no impact to one’s quality of life. A variety of vehicles can be used to help fund planned gifts, including estate gifts, retirement plans, life insurance policies, charitable trusts and more. Often planned gifts can be arranged in a very simple manner with one’s estate attorney or even retirement fund administrator. Members of the O’Neil Society are invited annually to a series of special events on the campus, and often work closely with members of the advancement staf to help identify how they want their future gift to be used by the school. The list below includes friends whose planned giving is known to the university, while others wish to remain anonymous. For more information on making a planned gift, please contact Caleb Pifer at 814-824-3850 or .

Virginia Adair ‘61 Sandra Adams, ACFRE ‘69 Dorothy Bryan Adema ‘34 * Marjorie M. Alge ’37 * Elizabeth H. Ashton ’47 * Warren Baer Michael R. Ball ‘01 Jane Barr * Loretta Crowley Bauer ’45 * Corrine Beck * Florence O’Neil Bernard ‘38 * J. Boyd and Joan Bert Jr. Margene Betts * Barbara Brairton ‘65

Margaret Clark Filson ’34 * Thomas M. Frank ‘73 Charles M. Furr, M.D. Collette Stegelske Gabreski ’40 * William P. Garvey, Ph.D. Jeanette Gerace ‘57 Coletta C. Ginnard ’49 * Maurice W. Gjertsen * Catherine Ryan Gray ’33 * Herbert and Catherine Hafenmaier Adelaide M. Hagar ’38 * Doris M. Haley * Martha M. Haley ’43 * Mary M. Hanlin * Margaret A. Heetmann ‘65 Marilyn Heibel ‘61 Homer P. Herman * Elizabeth A. Hilbert ‘58 F. William* and Audrey Sitter Hirt ’49 * Georgia M. Hitchcock * John F. Jageman *

Nancy J. Norberg ‘64 Deborah O’Keefe ‘70 Barbara A. Perry, Ph.D. ‘57 Josephine Pezzich Jennifer E. Piccirillo ‘03 Judith Pitney, Ph.D. ‘67 Norman W. Plumb * Richard J. Porter ‘89 Roderick I. Power ‘90 Bruce H. Raimy Josephine Rakow, D.O.

Virginia Rathbun ‘61 Janette E. Regner ‘47 Mary Robaskiewiez Robie ’29 * Carolyn Ruth ‘63 David and Harriett Schaper ‘43 * William M. and Frances Schuster * Pauline Scott * William C. Sennett, Esq. Mary Jane Walsh Seubert ’44 * Martha Soroka ‘70 James B. Spiegel Laraine E. Stewart ‘82 Roy and Rosanna Strausbaugh, Ph.D. Jane Theuerkauf Gloria Corrado Thompson ’44 * Raymond L. Tipton, M.D. ‘77 Arloween Zurn Todd * Louis J. Tullio * Marguerite A. Urban * Gary J. Shapira, Esq. Frank P. Sirotnak ‘76 Rev. Eldon K. Somers

Mary Rita Brennan ’38 * Alice Martin Brugger ’36 * Ruth D. Brugger ’41 * Gary L Bukowski ’73 and Roberta Donley Bukowski ‘78 Noel J. Burgoyne ‘57 Donald and Frances Q. Buseck Daniel E. Cabanillas ‘97 Del* and Jean Caryl Barbara A. Chambers, Ed.D. ‘60 Josephine Ciancaglini ‘56 Dario Cipriani ‘74

Doug and Jean James * Mary Louise Kaufman ‘53 Rosemary Kaveney ‘54 Teresa A. Kelly ’49 * Jane E. Kerstetter ‘78 Martha Mary Kessler ’37 * Bonnie Kinsinger ‘63 H. Vira Kolish * Scott A. Koskoski ’00 Ambrose Kronenwetter *

Diane Wawrejko Cochran ‘78 John and Emily Costigan ‘64

James K. Crawford ’87 * Judith Young Crews ‘64 H. Patricia Curran ‘52 *

George * and Mary D’Angelo Mary Ellen Dahlkemper ‘73 William Dehouske Louis and Rose Marie Laskey Disorbo ‘60 Msgr. John Dollinger * Jean J. Donovan Joan Dori ‘50 Brian M. Dougherty, Ed.D. ‘83 Margaret Dupre ‘61 Kathryn Barber Durkin * Rosemary D. Durkin, Esq. ‘77 and Jefrey Best ‘77

Barbara Lacinak ‘73 Cecilia S. Leandro ‘04 Gary and Jeanne Q. Lillis ‘76 Frances Malaney ’37 * Margaret J. McMahon ‘37 Mary Michener ’74 * Frances Mientkiewicz ’43 * Anthony Minunni Marco and Elizabeth Monsalve Adaline B. Morelli ’37 * Helen Fabian Mullen, Ed.D. ’47 * Robert B. Munson ’94 * M. Katherine Murray ‘77 James* and Elinor D. Nally Ingeborg Loesch Nelson ’54 *

Lynn Varricchio ‘69 Holly A. Villella ‘79

Barrett C. Walker, D.D.S. Mary Daley Wallace ’33 * Rita A. Weiss ‘57 Evan R. Wernecke ‘05 Judith A. Wieczorek ‘61 Mary B. Wiedel ‘84 Terry Wilson

Albert* and Mary Duval Kathleen A. Dwyer ‘62 Judith Emling ‘66 Michael Eugene Falk ‘89 Patricia J. Fessler ’50 *

Mary Winston ’41 * Patricia S. Yahn ‘50 Mary E. Yonkers ‘69 Eileen Zinchiak ‘80


Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online