2020 OPA Winter Sward

2020-2021 OPA Board of Directors

‘Tis the season … for our annual changing of the guards at OPA! Actually, with things being rather higgledy- piggledy this year, we are a little late announcing this annual change. But hey, better late than never right? Just in case you are not aware, or have perhaps forgotten, our board consists of a group of 13 parks professionals from around the province of Ontario. These members have typically submitted an application, been approved by our board, and then elected at our Annual General Meeting in June. Board members are elected to sit for one term, with our terms running from September through August each year. Some board members choose to sit as a director for more than one term, and some move through the ranks of the executive, eventually moving off the board after they have assumed the role of past president. If you are interested in learning more about our board of directors and what they do, or how you can join this team, please send me an email at shelley@ontarioparksassociation.ca. Our search for a new director or two to join the board will begin in the spring of 2021. Be sure to watch your email and the OPA website for our call for new directors! Okay, I am sure you have been anxiously awaiting this moment … so, without further ado, we are super excited to finally introduce you to our Board of Directors for the 2020-2021 term !

President: Wayne Gould, City of Vaughan

Past President: Jim Pitman, City of Brampton

Vice President: Darryl Gairns, Town of Oakville

Treasurer: Matt Mintz, City of Richmond Hill

President-Elect: Kara Bunn, City of Hamilton


DavidWarden, Town of Lincoln

Dustin Milburn, City of London

Shane Taylor, City of Cambridge

Steve Barnhart, Niagara Parks Commission

Mark Dykstra, City of Waterloo

And new to the board for this term are directors:

Chris Kern, City of Woodstock

Mike Murphy, City of Windsor

Gene Matthews, City of Guelph


The Green Sward - Winter 2020

Page 16

Made with FlippingBook Ebook Creator