Register 2022

EXCHANGES School exchanges returned this year, with the senior team travelling to Dunedin for the Otago Boys’ High School exchange. Despite losing, the boys put in a strong performance. Whiua te Kupu was held without the disruptions that characterised the inaugural competition. This trophy, which celebrates the bond between College and St Margaret’s College, was won for the second year by St Margaret’s College. The debating year concluded with the King’s College exchange. It was held online to avoid the possibility of disruptions. Despite King’s taking the trophy, it was an entertaining debate and a positive end to a big

online format and so the competition could continue. It was much to everyone’s relief when we returned to face-to-face competition. The importance of in-person interactions cannot be underestimated. Results were strong in the inter- school competition, with the top junior result boding well for the future. The team – Aaron Kwak, Angus Vincent, Edward Elworthy and Jack Hastie – won through to the semi-finals, and narrowly missed a place in the final. Likewise, the top senior team had several successes. Thimeth Wijesinghe, Yusef Elnahas, and Isaac Heap did extremely well to reach the quarter-finals against some of Christchurch’s best debaters. CANTERBURY REGIONAL DEBATING CHAMPIONSHIPS In addition to the inter-school debates, the Canterbury Schools’ Debating Council hosts the Canterbury Regional Debating

Championships, primarily aimed at senior debaters, and the Canterbury Regional Junior Debating Championships. This competition is an opportunity for debaters to make huge strides in their confidence and abilities as several debates are held over the course of the day – in the case of juniors – or two days for seniors. Once again, the senior team impressed with a narrow loss in the final. Each team member was awarded a certificate for highly commended speaker. HOUSE COMPETITION House debating showcased the depth of talent across the school Houses. Competition was not without issues this year, with many teams not having their best speakers because of illness. Julius took out the top spot against a very strong Flower’s in the senior competition, while Condell’s won the junior competition by default as Somes was unable to field a team.

year of debating. Emma Bracken TiC Debating


Front Row: ID Heap, TS Wijesinghe, Y Elnahas Absent: Ms EJ Bracken (Manager)


Register 2022 Culture

Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online